Box & candle

Weeks ago I saw this box at No Time to Stamp and decided it would be my December Stampers’ Club project. I also wanted to stamp some candles so I came up with a candle in a gift box for everyone to make.

img_4021bcw.jpg

To make the box I used a 12×12 sheet of cardstock and a 12×12 piece of designer paper for the lid. I scored the cardstock 2 3/4″ from the bottom and then turned it and scored it at 2 3/4″ intervals across the opposite way making 4 panels with a narrow strip left over.

img_3986xcrop.jpg

I cut the corner piece out where the narrow strip was and then cut up the four parallel score lines to the 2 3/4″ line.

img_3988excrop.jpg

img_3990xecrop.jpg

After that it is quite straight forward to stick it together.

img_3991excrop.jpg

The lid follows exactly the same procedure except that you score 2 7/8″ from the bottom and across the piece at 2 7/8″ intervals leaving you a smaller flap to stick the lid together.

img_4019excrop.jpg

To decorate the candle stamp the image you want to use on tissue paper the same colour as your candle. Then cut out the image you have stamped.

img_3997excrop.jpg

Position the image on the candle and wrap a piece of waxed paper over it, holding either end of the waxed paper on firmly on the other side of the candle.

img_3998excrop.jpg

Holding the wax paper firmly heat the area of the stamped image with a heat tool. It doesn’t need to be heated for long, just long enough to see the wax over the image glisten as it melts into the tissue paper. Peel off the wax paper and repeat for another image on a different section of the candle.

img_4000excrop.jpg

I finished the candle off with two strips of cardstock, a piece of co-ordinating designer paper and a ribbon.

Supplies:

Stamps: Perfect Presentation, Bold Snowflakes roller
Inks: Always Artichoke, Mellow Moss
Cardstock: Always Artichoke, Mellow Moss, Very Vanilla, Wintergreen Designer paper
Also: Candle (IKEA), square punches, Spring Moss grosgrain ribbon, Olive organza ribbon (retired)

 


5 Comments on “Box & candle”

  1. afillo says:

    This looks terrific!

  2. […] uses the same pattern that I used before Christmas to make my candle boxes, I just cut the sides lower. The pink butterfly is stamped on three separate layers, two cardstock […]

  3. […] candles are done with tissue paper and wax paper as explained in my tutorial here.  All the paper items are made using Brocade Background designer paper, River Rock, Confetti Cream […]

  4. […] heat gun to melt them onto the candle.  I have a tutorial explaining how to make a box and candle  HERE.  The trim on the box and candle wrapper were made with the retired Pine Bough roller from […]

  5. This is so gorgeous!!! That IS my favorite box style of all time — tall and thin — you make me want to make another!!!


Leave a comment