Red polka dot purse

img_4385tucrop10.jpg

After I had completed my first purse, I set out to make another and create a tutorial as I did it. First I cut a piece of cardstock 10¼” x 6½”. I then scored it at ½”, 5″ and 5¾”as shown below.
img_4378tucrop1.jpg

To make the purse flap I cut a piece 6½”x 3¾” and measured in 1″ from the corner on both ends of one long side and cut off triangles to make a trapezoid.

img_4362tucrop2.jpg

I did not measure to make the designer paper shape to decorate the purse flap (sorry), I just made it a little more than ¼” smaller all the way around the three shorter sides. Don’t stick it on yet.
img_4363tucrop3.jpg

Attach designer paper shape to vanilla cardstock, aligning the longer edge with the edge of the cardstock.

img_4374tucrop5.jpg

Cut around the designer paper with decorative scissors making a “lace” edge.

img_4367tucrop4.jpg

Attach the purse flap to the ½” flap on the purse.

img_4376tucrop6.jpg

Next I made gusset pieces for the sides of the purse with designer paper. I cut two pieces 4″x 3″ and scored them along the length at ½” 1½” and 2½”. Then I folded them concertina style.

img_4380tucrop7.jpg
I then glued the narrower section of the concertina piece to the inside of my purse. I think it is easier to just look at the picture than have me try to explain it.

img_4381tucrop8.jpg

img_4382tucrop9.jpg

To fasten the purse flap I used a velcro circle and added a big red button with scallop trim to finish it off. The button just happened to end up looking exactly as I wanted even though I wasn’t sure how to make it initially. I punched out a circle of red cardstock and stamped the versamark pad directly onto it. I then embossed with glassy glaze enamel embossing powder, then stamped with versamark and embossed again. When I was heating the second layer I held the heat tool directly over head which pushed liquid enamel out to the sides giving the button a raised edge.

img_4387button.jpg


5 Comments on “Red polka dot purse”

  1. This is so, so darling!!! And I just LOVE how you did the sides — fabulous!!! Thank you so much for taking the time to do this wonderful tutorial!!! A very striking project!!! Thanks so much!!!

  2. Cheryl says:

    What a cute purse! Thank you so much for showing us how to make it. I love the little lace edge. Now maybe I will use those scissors that stay in the drawer.

  3. […] made this purse a little while ago, it is the same design as my red one and my chocolate one but a little bigger. I will try a different design one of these days. I like […]

  4. nancy says:

    Where did you find that polka-dot paper?

  5. Heather says:

    The polka dot paper is from the retired “Cerise” set from Stampin’ Up.

    Thanks for looking.


Leave a comment