Peaceful Blossoms

I’ve been wanting to participate in one of Sharon’s Stamp Simply challenges again so I was pleased when I read what this week’ challenge was.  I had planned to try remaking a favourite card of mine anyway.  Sharon’s challenge is to choose one of your own cards and then use it as your inspiration for a new card.  You can change as little or as much as you like.

The card I chose was this one:


I love this set and have enjoyed using it lately to create some cards with a Chinese style.  I decided to use the same technique and stamp set but change colours and layout.  When I had settled on the size of the image panel and the mattes, it still need something so I created the little tassel which is a design element I often saw when in China.

I stamped the white blossoms in versamark first and embossed them with clear e.p.  Then I sponged in Rose Red, Pretty in Pink, Bashful Blue and Almost Amethyst.  Over the top of the sponging I stamped pale versions of the blossoms, stamping off on paper first so the colour was not at full strength.  To make the medallion I stamped the blossom in versamark and then Rose Red so I could emboss it with clear e.p.  The tassel is made from embroidery thread.  The sentiment is a Cherished Memories rub-on.

Supplies:

Stamps:Garden Silhouettes
Inks: Rose Red, Pretty in Pink, Bashful Blue, Almost Amethyst
Cardstock: Rose Red, Whisper White, Almost Amethyst
Also: Clear embossing powder, circle punches, embroidery thread


4 Comments on “Peaceful Blossoms”

  1. I absolutely love the technique you did on both of these cards. They are fabulous. Great work! Thanks for the instructions on how to accomplish this look. I am going to give it a shot myself.

  2. Oh my goodness gracious!!! Both of these cards are so very, very lovely!!! What beautiful work — each is breathtaking!!! You are a master with this technique!!! Totally wonderful!!! I am SO glad you could play and share these – thank you SO much!!!

  3. These are stunning!! I love love love them!!!

  4. Marlayne says:

    Love this card Heather! I’m going to have to try that one myself! Hope you are doing well.


Leave a comment