Still winter

My children are big Narnia  fans, so when I saw Sharon’s challenge this week I thought of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe where in Narnia it is “always winter, but never Christmas”.  So although, we may use the same stamps we used at Christmas, the challenge is to make a card that says “Winter”  It is very much “still winter” here and we had a snowstorm this week to prove it.

Still Winter

For my card I decided to continue playing with the snowy landscape idea, once again using Lovely as a Tree.   I punched a small moon out of a post it note and tore a strip of paper to mask my snow at the bottom.   I sponged in all the sky first using summer sun, apricot appeal and pumpkin pie.  Then I stamped the background trees in grey with the mask still in place.  I then swapped the mask over and covered the sponged sky and lightly stamped the trees upside down to try and make a shadow.  It didn’t work that well so I sponged more shadow in grey.  Finally I stamped two black trees and a greeting.

It’s nice to be stamping again. Thanks for stopping by.

Supplies:

Stamps:  Lovely as a Tree, Snowflakes
Inks: Summer Sun, Apricot Appeal, Pumpkin Pie, Going Gray
Cardstock: Whisper White, Apricot Appeal, Going Grey, Basic Black


2 Comments on “Still winter”

  1. Just love your wintery scene, Heather! That low moon is just gorgeous behind the trees!!! I’m so glad you got to play today — thank you so much!!!

  2. Corie says:

    This is just beautiful!!


Leave a comment