Need to be negative

img_7069card142

That’s right, I needed to be negative when I made this card.  Sharon’s Stamp Simply challenge this week is to use negative images or negative spaces left after using a punch.  The stamped image is the only negative thing about this card, because I am actually feeling very positive about being the Stamp Simply Guest Designer for February!  Thank you Sharon for including me in your team for the month.

This card is truly a “stamp simply” card.  One stamp set, three markers and one piece of cardstock!   I coloured directly onto the train stamp and then spritzed some water onto the stamp to blur the edges a little between my colours.  After I had stamped one image using these colours I realised how much the green strip looked like foliage so Istamped another using the green marker a little more intentionally to create a background of trees for the train going past.  I also used markers to highlight the word “Journey” in the sentiment.

I had a few trial images of the train lying around on my craft table so I decided to make a less simple card and use some mattes and embellishments.  You can see the result below.  I was happy with it but I prefer the simplicity of the one layer in the first card.

Make sure you check out the designs by the talented Stamp Simply design team:

Julie, Janine, Jennifer, Tammy, DeeAJ, and of course Sharon.

img_7073card15

Supplies:
Inks: Night of Navy, Bordering Blue and Always Artichoke stampin’write markers
Cardstock: Whisper white (Night of Navy, Bordering Blue, Always Artichoke)
Stamps:  Happiness is a Journey (Fundamental Phrases)
Also:  Navy grosgrain ribbon, hodgepodge hardware buckle


10 Comments on “Need to be negative”

  1. Janine says:

    Just beautiful Heather!! Welcome aboard this month!!

  2. Wow, what a perfect stamp to have for this challenge! I love the colors you used, Heather and your clean, simple designs!

  3. Beautiful, Heather! 🙂 Love this!

  4. Heather, honestly, I have never seen such a lovely one layer card! Those are so hard to pull off!! Yours is just gorgeous!

  5. Pat Adam says:

    Wow, what an awesome card, your image and the way it’s done is just super. Congrats on being a guest for this team…quite obviously you deserve it. Pat

  6. AWESOME!!! Love BOTH cards … they are amazing! Your coloring on this image is just perfect!! Fantastic job … congrats on being February guest designer … looking forward to seeing your designs!! You’re off to a bang-up start … !

  7. So handsome! Love this fresh and clean look!

  8. Sheila says:

    Hi Heather,
    I came across your blog today after my daily visit to Sharon’s site. Can you imagine my surprise when I noticed we live in the same city. I can clearly see why you were chosen for February’s guest designer. I quickly added your name to my list of favourites and I look forward to visiting again. TFS! Sheila

  9. These cards are both so outstanding! I love this image. You do the most wonderful work, Heather!

  10. Oh my gosh — both of these cards are absolutely STUNNING!!! I love the colors here and how you’ve used your reverse image stamp to the MAX — both are truly works of art!!! I am inspired!!!! FAB work!!! And I’m so happy you are on board this month!!! Thank YOU!!!


Leave a comment