Glimpse of Spring

img_7231card26

Today is my last day as  guest designer for Sharon’s Stamp Simply Challenge at No Time to Stamp.   I have enjoyed myself immensely.  Thanks, Sharon and your wonderful design team for the opportunity to join in the fun.

Stamp  Simply challenge #76 is to provide a remedy for  Cabin Fever.  We need to see some spring.   I don’t know what it is like where you are but the ground is still well and truly snow covered where I am!  The temperature today did rise above zero  today, though,  so some would say spring must be on it’s way.

This is one of those cards I designed in my head and then when I came to try it out it actually worked out!  Sometimes I can see a design clearly in my head and no matter what I do I cannot make it happen on cardstock.   To make the spring scene I first cut an oval out of cardstock with my Creative memory cutters.  I used the piece with the oval missing to make a mask, laying it on my white cardstock and stamping, then sponging  everything except the sentiment without moving the mask.

I used the blossom stamp from Garden Silhouettes which is a favourite set of mine.  Using the Rose Red, Regal Rose, Bravo Burgandy  and Always Artichoke markers I coloured directly onto the stamp.  The flowers were done with Regal Rose, but I added a centre dots with Bravo Burgandy and a few highlights on the edges with Rose Red.  The leaves and stems were all Artichoke.  It sounds fiddly but it onlytook me about 10 minutes to colour and stamp, this is the Stamp Simply challenge after all.   I sponged Pretty in Pink and Mellow Moss around the oval edges. After removing the mask I used  my Stamp-a-ma-jig to place my sentiment exactly where I wanted it.
(Just for the record, I did try to add ribbon, on the white, on the green, in bows or knots or just flat,  but I couldn’t make it  improve the composition at all!)

Don’t forget to check out the design team’s spring inspirations:
Dee, Tammy, Janine, AJ, JenniferJulie and Sharon

Supplies:

Stamps: Garden Silhouettes, Best Yet
Inks: Rose Red, Regal Rose, Bravo Burgandy and Always Artichoke Markers,  Pretty in Pink, Mellow Moss
Cardstock: Always Artichoke, Mellow Moss, Whisper White
Also: Creative Memories oval cutters


17 Comments on “Glimpse of Spring”

  1. Kathie Klenner says:

    I think this card is absolutely gorgeous in every way!! Love it.

  2. Joan Fricker says:

    Beautiful Heather! I love your soft colors. Great card and one anyone would be thrilled to receive.

    Joan

  3. This is GORGEOUS!!! Great idea … love the softness of the colors! Certainly screams SPRINGTIME!!

  4. Kay S. says:

    WOW – what a very pretty card! It definitely says Spring, in such an elegant way. I’ll need a dozen! LOL

  5. Pat Adam says:

    what a lovely card, simple yet very elegant. You did a fabulous job as the guest for this team. Lovely.Pat

  6. Heather, this is GORGEOUS and really makes me miss that stamp set! I love how you masked off the oval… I must try that sometime!

  7. So beautiful Heather!Love the masked frame you made! Those flowers are so inviting!

  8. Billie scs myboys says:

    Wow this is super beautiful, love how you did this and of course it looks like Spring

  9. JUst loved your card, great for Spring!
    elaine

  10. Sheila says:

    Hi Heather,
    This card just shouts spring with all those tiny buds just waiting to burst open. I luv your color choices. TFS! Sheila

  11. Paula Kay says:

    Can you please tell me who makes Garden Silhouettes?
    That is a very pretty stamp and I like what you did with it.

  12. Kathy says:

    this card is lovely! Would brighten the spirit of anyone who sees it. I know it brightened mine! TFS!!

  13. Theresa says:

    Such a beautiful card! Wonderful job on the reverse masking.

  14. Talk about a WOW card — oh my!!! How very pretty and spring like is this – I love it!!! You did an amazing job inking that stamp up — your flowers are just lovely!!! And I LOVE your masked design — so elegant!!! Heather, it has been our pleasure to have you with us this past month – thank YOU so much!!! But we won’t be far, you know just where we are, and we know where YOU are — thanks again!!!

  15. Sue (suen) says:

    This is just an absolutely beautiful card! I love the masked oval and lovely Garden Silhouette images! The colors for the blossoms are perfect!

  16. Joyce says:

    Simply Beautiful!

  17. kerri hunter says:

    omg Heather I have been looking through your blog and had to pick my most favourite of all of your gorgeous creations to comment on but i am telling you that you are amazing

    absolutely gorgeous work


Leave a comment