Add a ribbon tab

img_7448card44

Over at No Time to Stamp this week Sharon’s Stamp Simply challenge is to use a ribbon tab.  Rather that a knot or a bow, which is the way I usually add ribbon, I had to add  a folded tab of ribbon instead.  Although the colours on this photo are not quite true I love the way the camera picked up the sheen on my navy satin ribbon tab.

I started this card with five strips of Very vanilla cardstock, just left overs out of the scrap drawer.  I used the brayer to roll Mellow Moss onto a couple of pieces, Always Artichoke onto another, Not quite Navy on a fourth and then a combination of those colours on the fifth.  I then used the same colours to stamp the leafy stamp from Pocket Silhouettes onto the strips.  When I had finished them I stuck them on a piece of Night of Navy cardstock with the spaces in between.  At this stage the piece was quite big and I decided that some stitching would add to the design so I threaded up my machine with a co-ordinating thread and began to sew around the outside of the rectangle.  My machine did not like it at all.  I cut off the edges I had sewn and did some more trials, on a scrap of cardstock this time, but no luck.  I decided to check whether the machine was working with fabric, which it was but not with cardstock, so I gave the stitching idea.

My central image of a tree was  stamped  with versamark and Night of Navy then embossed with clear before I sponged Mellow Moss and Not quite Navy diagonally across the piece and then added the sentiment.  After cutting the unsuccessful sewing off my background piece it was the right width but not longer the  right height so I added a strip at the bottom sponged with Mellow Moss and Not quite Navy again and stamped with the tree leaves.  I’d still like to master sewing on my cards but not at the risk of damaging my sewing machine, so I’ll be doing a little research.  If you have any tips let me know.

Supplies:

Stamps: Thoughts and Prayers, Pocket Silhouettes
Inks: Versamark, Mellow Moss, Not quite Navy, Always Artichoke,Night of Navy
Cardstock: Very Vanilla,Night of Navy
Also:  Clear e.p. Navy satin ribbon


7 Comments on “Add a ribbon tab”

  1. This is the most beautiful card with one of the best sketches I’ve seen for quite a while. I love how you stamped your own backgrounds. In fact, everything you stamp is very artistic and soothing. You have a nice touch.

  2. Tanya says:

    This card is so pretty! I love the colors!

  3. This card is absolutely gorgeous!!! It is so soothing in these beautiful colors and I LOVE that you have the strip across the bottom — changes up the layout and adds a great look!!! Also LOVE the way your ribbon tab runs totally under the panel and wraps around the other side — a GREAT card!!! So glad you could play!!!

  4. Doris says:

    What is it about trees that makes a card so appealing? This one is so delicate and goes perfectly with the colors you used.

  5. Ali Manning says:

    Heather, this is an absolutely fabulous card – you did such a wonderful job with the brayering!

  6. What a great and creative use of these sets! Beautiful!

  7. Bets says:

    This is the most unique card I have ever seen. Love it


Leave a comment