Double Play

img_7526card53

This is my first time playing along with the CAS challenge at Splitcoast.  The challenge this week was to use the children’s bedroom sets at JC Penney’s for inspiration.  I chose this set of bedding.   I was part way through designing by ladybug card when I realised that I could play along with Sharon’s piping challenge at the same time.  Like Sharon my sewing background goes back further than my stamping background so I often see card designs the same way I see fabric and sewing projects.   Piping is a fiddly but classy touch on sewn items:  I did it on cushions and bed covers occasionally, but the main area where I used it was on the smocked dresses I made for my girls.

The little lady bugs on this card remind me of some of the ‘oh so cute” outfits my girls had when they were little.  I wish I had a photo of one to post but my pictures of them at that age were not digital.      When I searched through the choices on the JC Penney site, the bugs jumped out at me because of the colours and the chance to do a little doodling on the card.  The canvas background stamp was perfect to add a little gingham touch.

Thanks for dropping in.

Supplies:

Stamps: Garden Whimsy, Hugs & Wishes, Canvas, Itty Bitty Buds
Inks: Real Red, Basic Black, Garden Green and Black markers
Cardstock: Whisper White, Real Red, Basic Black


4 Comments on “Double Play”

  1. Pauline says:

    This is great. i love the colours used here, and the lady bugs are so cute. Smocking is a dying art nowadays, which is a pity beause it’s so beautiful.

  2. Janine says:

    This is so clean and pretty!! Love that bug!
    Hope you are well!!

  3. I just love the way you combined stamp sets for this super cute design! It all works so beautifully!


Leave a comment