Field of daisies

img_7520card55

At last… a new card!  This card was something of an experiment, because I was watercolouring the background.  I love the look of watercolouring but I am far from an expert in the technique so I just play around with the colours and hope for the best.  I totally covered the watercolour paper with water and then dropped drips of Brocade Blue ink in the sky area and guided them with my paint brush.  I wanted dark and light areas so I removed ink in some places with paper towel and added more in other places.  On the bottom two thirds I dropped Garden Green ink and kept the coverage fairly uniform.  After it had dried a little I turned the Garden Green ink pad on its side and “painted” the grass.

To create the daisy feature I inked the stamp with versamark and then drew yellow centres with the So Saffron marker and stalks in Garden Green.  I embossed in clear before sponging the background with Bashful Blue and Ballet Blue.   I thought the hemp twine was appropriate for my country scene and added the knots so it would look  a little like a fence.  The left side of the card is scored so it opens like a folio.  The daisies  are stamped on Whisper White but the card base and the distressed matte are Confetti White.

I am so pleased you dropped in ( and pleased I finally managed to post!).

Supplies:

Stamps: Upsy Daisy
Inks: Garden Green and Brocade Blue reinkers, Bashful Blue, Ballet Blue, versamark
Cardstock: Whisper White, Confetti White, Watercolour paper
Also: Natural hemp twine


8 Comments on “Field of daisies”

  1. Cathy Green says:

    This is truly lovely! Thanks for sharing it with us.

  2. Oh Heather! This may very well be my favorite card to date with this stamp!! I love what you have done. Thank you for the tutorial!

  3. Pauline says:

    Heather, this is so pretty. You’ve done really well for someone who is experimenting :o)
    Well done

  4. Doris says:

    Beautiful watercoloring–so soft looking! Thanks for the “folio” idea, too.

  5. Tanya says:

    Ohhh! I love it!

  6. Rose Ann says:

    This is gorgeous, and your coloring looks amazing!!

  7. Janine says:

    Just beautiful Heather!!

  8. I love this! LOVE it! It doesn’t look the least bit like you’re “experimenting” with your watercolor backgrounds. This looks like you’ve pretty much perfected the technique. These are the best daisies I’ve seen with this set yet!


Leave a comment