Grassy sunset

IMG_7634card58

I created this scene a week or so ago but did not get it made into a card until the other day.  There are no flowers or butterflies so I decided to created a card for Sharon’s  “For the Guys” challenge.  Aside from a scene which would work for a man I needed a little bit of string or rope somewhere.  I actually unraveled the natural hemp twine and used one strand which gave it the nice wavy look.

The scene is done on watercolour paper which I embossed first.  I inked the grass with Artichoke first and then versamark so I could emboss in clear.  As the watercolour paper was fairly course the embossed image is not sharp.  I don’t have a circle stamp that size for the sun so I punched a circle out of a scrap and then used it as a stencil to stamp the versmark pad through before embossing in clear.   After embossing I soaked the whole piece with water and started dropping and spreading inks across the paper with a large paintbrush.  The only Stampin Up ink I used was Always Artichoke, the others are Winsor and Newton drawing  inks.   The size is suitable for a business size envelope, and hopefully suitable for a guy!

Supplies:

Stamps: Inspired by Nature, Fundamental Phrases
Inks: Versamark, Always Artichoke, Winsor & Newton drawing inks
Cardstock: Always Artichoke, Confetti Cream, Watercolour paper
Also: Natural hemp twine, Clear e.p.


8 Comments on “Grassy sunset”

  1. Oh, my…definitely suitable for a guy. For anyone, actually. This is a drop-dead gorgeous card, Heather!

  2. katie says:

    This looks great, I first thought you were using a brayer.

  3. Ali Manning says:

    Your card is beautiful Heather – a perfect guy card!

  4. Pauline says:

    This is a lovely card, for a male or female. well done :o)

  5. What a beautiful sky! Gorgeous work!

  6. Janine says:

    This is just beautiful Heather…

  7. Doris says:

    What a gorgeous card! I like how you threaded the twine through the sentiment.

  8. Absolutely stunning! Beyond beautiful! Thank you for the details on how you created this masterpiece. I love how you threaded the twine through the sentiment panel, keeping it bulk-free. An ideal guy card!


Leave a comment