Remakes

IMG_7815card66

Once in a while a remake of a movie is better than the first one, but I usually prefer the original.  As far as these cards are concerned, I definitely prefer the remakes.  I went through a box of old cards the other day, sorting and tossing out what I didn’t like and wouldn’t use.  I guess I could have photographed the originals but I just ripped bits and pieces off and started again.  For both cards I just salvaged the flower panels which were stamped in Basic Black and coloured with watercolour pencils.  I was inspired by the cards I saw on Simplicity by SusanRaihala.

IMG_7819card67

The simple fonts in the one line greetings combined with the matted coloured flowers are a big improvement on my first  efforts trust me.

Supplies:

Stamps: In Full Bloom, Simple Sayings
Inks: Basic Black
Cardstock: Very Vanilla, Confetti White, Summer Sun, Marigold Morning
Also: Faber-Castell Watercolour pencils, blender pen


4 Comments on “Remakes”

  1. Wow, Heather! These are wonderful! (I would have loved to see the originals, too!)

    I especially like how you used confetti as the base for these…it’s perfect with the speckled stamps in In Full Bloom, and what an awesome backdrop for the pops of orange.

  2. I trust you. It’s funny how a person’s tastes change along with the times and trends. Those cards were probably great at the time. I love this set, and love these simple but beautiful cards!

  3. These are both truly beautiful and elegant. Your coloring and shading are perfect.

  4. Pauline says:

    These are really lovely. well done, you :o)


Leave a comment