Happy Birthday Stamp Simply

Sharon is celebrating over at No Time to Stamp because the Friday Stamp Simply  challenge is turning 100.  The 100th challenge is to make a birthday card.   Sharon  invited a bunch of guests to celebrate and I was happy  to be included.  There is quite a line up of talented stampers with all sorts of birthday projects and blog candy galore!

IMG_8568card11

My parents are staying with me at present and asked whether I could make a card for a 21 year old young man.   As you know I make very few masculine cards but I have a few new stamps which should change that a bit.  I bought three of the new SU Extreme stamps with my son, his friends and my nephews in mind.  This is my first effort with the Extreme Surfer stamp.

I began by flicking embossing fluid on watercolour paper with a paintbrush.  I then embossed in white and soaked the watercolour paper with water.  I used three reinkers to create the surf and then waited for it to dry before embossing the surfer.  Actually that is not quite true, I should have waited until it was totally dry because a couple of wet patches did retain a bit of black embossing powder.  In Australia your twenty-first birthday is considered a milestone so my parents thought it would be appropriate to have 21 on the front of the card.  None of my numeral stamps looked right so I wrote the words on with a black fineliner.  I then fiddled around with the mattes and split the scene in three panels.  Inside is a repeat of the surfer on a Not quite navy splodge.

Edited to add: A few people have asked what embossing fluid is.  It is a fluid for re-inking a clear embossing pad, I bought it quite a long time ago,  I wonder if the versamark pad refill in the SU catalog  is the same sort of thing.

Thanks for dropping in, make sure you check out the great projects completed by the other birthday guests.

  1. Pat AdamChristmas Gift Tags with BLOG CANDY

  2. AJ1 Card Done 3 Ways

  3. Janine – A Stress Free Summer Menu with BLOG CANDY

  4. Tammy – Birthday Reminder Book with BLOG CANDY

  5. Jennifer – Birthday Card with BLOG CANDY

  6. Julie – Card Set in Tote with Directions

  7. Barbara–  Birthday Card with BLOG CANDY

  8. Deb– Tutorial on Dying Silk Ribbon Using Copics and Refills

  9. Jenny– Birthday Card with BLOG CANDY

  10. Jerri – Birthday Card and Tutorial on Hand Embossing with Light Box

  11. Joan– Birthday Card and Etched Glass with BLOG CANDY

  12. LeAnne – Birthday Card with Glitter

  13. Barb– Birthday Cake 3-D Gift Item with BLOG CANDY

  14. Darlene – Birthday Card with Special Recipe

  15. Rose Ann– Birthday Card with BLOG CANDY

  16. Leslie – Gift Tin of Soaps with Coordinating Card

  17. Heather – Birthday Card  (that’s me!)

  18. Sabrina– Birthday Card with BLOG CANDY

  19. Sharon– Monogrammed Birthday Gift Set with BLOG CANDY

Supplies:

Stamps: Extreme Surfboard
Inks: Versamark, Not quite Navy, Night of Navy, Buckaroo Blue, Basic Black
Cardstock: Not quite Navy, Basic Black, Whisper White
Also:  White e.p., clear e.p., Pilot fineliner


28 Comments on “Happy Birthday Stamp Simply”

  1. LeAnne says:

    Incredible! What a great image and background! Although I have no idea what embossing fluid is, so I would never be able to recreate this!!!!! 😀
    LeAnne

  2. What a stunning card for a young man. Way cool look!!

  3. Swedie says:

    A nice idea for a young man’s card.. the color is perfect, too.

  4. Nena says:

    What a creation! What a blessing that you are able
    to write so well on a card~~~the card is outstanding.
    Love to take some classes from you:-)

  5. Martha Gunckel says:

    WOW! You did great capturing the extreme water feel to this surfer dude 21 card. And your lettering was perfect. Really a spectacular card. Thanks for sharing.

  6. bluemoon says:

    FAB card. It’s so difficult to make cards for young men of that age group and men in general. I am sure he will love it. It’s young and very kewl!

  7. Joan Fricker says:

    Heather, this is amazing! Wow what a great card.

    joan

  8. Carla (cmsuto) says:

    Very cool card, Heather! Love the effect you created and the neat image! Perfect for a young man! Thanks for sharing!

  9. StampinCathy says:

    This is one super cool card. I just love the technique too!

  10. Heather says:

    In addition to all the technical information, let me add that it is a great card.

    It is now on its way to Bateau Bay on the Central Coast of New South Wales where Mitch is celebrating his first 21 years next week. Bateau Bay has some wonderful golden surfing beaches nearby and, whilst the season is winter and the water is cold, we can be sure that part of Mitch’s celebration will include catching a wave or two.

    Thank you, Heather.

    ND

  11. Deb Saaranen says:

    Wow– what a fantastic surf card– so much action and foam– I LOVE it!

  12. Darlene Gabriel says:

    Wow what a wonderful masculine (and I might add very age appropriate) surfer card. I love the creative “splodging” you did on this card. The hand written twenty-one is the perfect touch for this card. Thank you for sharing this with us.

  13. Cat Spicer says:

    What a great masculine card! I’m blown away at how you made the background. It’s PERFECT for the surfer image. Well done!

  14. Carol L says:

    I’m SO glad Sharon linked you up and I found this incredible card here! I’m completely taken with this spectacular card and how you created it step-by-step! I’m always looking for masculine cards and this is REALLY one of the best I’ve seen yet! You’ve done an AMAZING job, TFS!!

  15. Toni Storie says:

    That is very cool! I can’t wait to try this technique!

  16. Cherie says:

    Awesome card for the masculine young folks! Thanks for sharing the tutorial!

    Cherie

  17. This is FANTASTIC!!! Thanks for the info on it’s creation!! Have a great weekend!!

  18. Jerri Kay says:

    This is one fantastic card Heather! What a perfect birthday card for a guy, absolutely love it!

  19. Janine says:

    WOW Heather… This is magnificent!! Hope all is well with you… Have a fabulous weekend.

  20. Rose Ann says:

    This is such a perfect card for that age group, Heather!! Such a wonderful effect with that cool image!!

  21. What a COOL card and I loved reading about how you achieved that watery effect — very clever of you — wonderful project!!!

  22. Gigi says:

    Great work on the card. Thanks for all those tips =) Keep up the great work

  23. I’m speechless! So…you’d think it would follow that I have nothing to say… I’ll just say that you create art when you stamp. I’ve seen it so many times when I visit here. I can hardly believe you did the writing, too. This is beautiful!

  24. cookiebaker01 says:

    Amazing card. What is embossing fluid? That’s one awesome technique.

  25. Heather, this is stunning! What a great technique and that surfer looks like he’s going to surf right out of the front of the card! Fabulous design!

  26. Kathy W says:

    My son turned 21 this year, and he would love this card. I liked how you wrote out the words “twenty one”; very cool font style! Beautiful card.

  27. Laurie in Lake Elmo says:

    Great card.

  28. Jenny Gropp says:

    This is SO cool! Wonderful card!


Leave a comment