Thanksgiving leaves

I have been thrilled and amazed at all the encouraging comments I have received about yesterday’s OLW 16 Scene card.  I was very happy with it but had no idea it would appeal to so many people.  Thank you for your kind words.  I mentioned at the end of that post that I would try the same technique again but with some autumn colours.  Well here it is; not a scene this time but the same process.  I masked off my panel, sponged in three colours, stamped the leaves in the same colours and then removed the masks before stamping the bold brown leaf and sentiment.

Those who have regularly drop in here might have noticed the layout has changed.  I decided I wanted to try a new theme.  All the elements are still here just moved around a little.  Just click on the Bits & Pieces title at left to go to the full blog.

PS. I have just been looking at the Speedy the Cat’s Friends Challenge over at Mark’s Finest Papers and I think this card fits the Harvest Theme so I will link it.  I have another idea forming in my imagination so check back later in the week.

Supplies:

Stamps: With Gratitude, Teensy Tiny Wishes
Inks: Chocolate Chip, Summer Sun, Ruby Red, Real Rust
Cardstock: Flourishes Classic White


16 Comments on “Thanksgiving leaves”

  1. sandie carter says:

    This looks great. Love the splash of colour with the masked area and the way you stamped the leave over top. Very effective. TFS

  2. Another stunner! I love these brilliant colours.

  3. Kez says:

    Love this one too, I adore Autumn colours. Gonna have to give this a try soon. TFS

  4. *Chrissie* says:

    Heather this too is a simply fabulous card. I love the colours you’ve used and the leaf image is simply beautiful.
    Thanks so much for your inspiration and for taking the the time to visit my blog.
    I would love to become a follower of your blog. Does WordPress have this facility? I can’t see where to click!
    Thanks again for your wonderful inspiration!
    Chrissie

  5. Patti says:

    This is absolutely amazing! I am going to case this for sure! I will give you credit and link back to you :0)

  6. Donelda says:

    There you go again, making a beautiful scene card!! This technique is truely lovely and I like this one as much as I like the tree one!! 🙂

  7. Lynn McAuley says:

    Awesome work with these stunning autumn leaves!!

    Thank you for sharing this gorgeous card in the Friends of Speedy the Cat’s harvest challenge!!

  8. dawnmercedes says:

    Amazing job! Hope to see you participate on another Speedy’s Friends Challenge!

  9. geri says:

    Absolutely beautiful!!
    Thanks for joining us at Speedy’s Friends.

  10. This is so simple, yet very striking. I love the variegated stripe — beautiful colors. Thanks for playing with Speedy’s Friends this week.

  11. This is stunning! Fabulous OLC!! Thanks for playing with Speedy’s Friends!

  12. joanne/jojot says:

    such a classy, CAS autumnal card..thanks for joining in the Speedy’s Friends challenge this week

  13. Theresa Pollack says:

    Lovely card …found you at Patti’s blog. Love this CAS.

  14. erin says:

    Beautiful card.

  15. […] one using this technique, perhaps with autumn colours. (I have made a new one with autumn leaves here.)  Thanks for dropping in […]

  16. dianequinlan says:

    I just found your card on Pinterest. I love how you did the cards with the trees stamp. This is one of my favorite stamps…..I love seeing how everyone uses the same stamp in a different way. Thank you for sharing your technique and your inspiration!


Leave a comment