Signs of Autumn

Although we are still in summer, there are definitely signs of autumn already.  So, I think this card for a friend having a birthday today will still be appropriate.  The nights are cooler and the colours are beginning to change.  This one is another for the Friends of Speedy the Cat’s Fall/Harvest Challenge.  Do you like my new watermark?  I carefully followed the tutorial on Vicki Dutcher’s blog and there it is.   My husband did show me how to do it a few years ago but as I didn’t go over it straight away I did not remember the process.

This card was another one inspired by the art magazine I picked up.  The artist is Michel LeRoux and his woodland scenes are beautiful, especially those with some fall colours.  As he creates movement, light and darkness with dabs of paint  I thought the leaves stamp from Branch Out might do a similar thing.  I started by colouring directly onto the tree stamp but only inking parts of it so that the branches would peep out through the leaves.  I repeated this several times and then started inking the leaves stamp for repeated impressions.  After there was a lot of colour on the card I used the choc chip marker to lengthen some of the branches and create a few extras.

Thanks for dropping in, have a great weekend.

Supplies:

Stamps:  Branch Out, Teeny Tiny Wishes
Inks: Chocolate Chip,Summer Sun, Pumpkin Pie, Really Rust, Almost Amethyst, Old Olive, Apricot Appeal, So Saffron
Cardstock: Chocolate Chip, Old Olive, Flourishes Classic Ivory


10 Comments on “Signs of Autumn”

  1. Claudine Poch says:

    Wow, this is stunning!

  2. Lynn McAuley says:

    I love this fabulous autumn leaves design!! What gorgeous work!!

    Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful card in the Friends of Speedy the Cat’s harvest challenge!!

  3. Heather – this is a beautiful card! I am so glad the watermark worked out for you! )Can I impose you to spell my name Vick….i – thanks!) Thanks also for playing with Speedy’s Friends!!

  4. sue says:

    Oh, this is so beautiful! We’re not approaching fall yet here in Charleston, but I’m looking forward to it. The colors in this card are beautiful, and the way you put it all together is lovely.

  5. geri says:

    A beautiful work of art!! Yes I love your watermark great job.
    Thanks for joining us Speedy’s Friends!

  6. ND says:

    You know how much I enjoy the autumn season and its colours. This card reminds me of wonderful visits.

    ND

  7. Sharon D. says:

    Wow – this is gorgeous!!! What a great take on Michel LeRoux’s work!

  8. Kathy says:

    This is GORGEOUS! I really love this card! It’s been a little while since I visited your blog. I see you’ve been busy- lots of pretty projects. Thanks for sharing cards 🙂

  9. Oh Heather! My jaw is still hanging open! This is incredible… an absolute beauty of a creation.

  10. Daria says:

    This is amazing. Thank you for explaining how you achieved this look.


Leave a comment