OLW 23 Heavy Metal

I used a tried and true layout for Susan’s One Layer Wednesday challenge this week.  We had to use metal somewhere on the card so I opted for metallic embossing powder.  I know snowflakes are not really silver but in my magical sky with northern lights I wanted silver snowflakes.  Lately I have been using this layout with sponging but  decided to use watercolour this time.  A couple of post-it notes are not quite enough of a barrier for water and ink on watercolour paper so my edges are a little more “relaxed”; there are a few breakouts of ink here and there.  I decided to stick with them as that is what watercolour tends to do.  The watercolour paper dictated the size of the card so it is 3.5″x5″.

After masking with the post-it notes I embossed the snowflakes then wet the whole panel and applied colour with ink and markers, moving it around with aqua painters until I was happy with the design.

Even though I have lived in Canada for 10 years now I have yet to see the Northern lights; this design came straight out of my imagination.

Supplies:

Stamps: Snowflakes, Short and Sweet
Inks: Versamark, Night of Navy, Marina Mist, Not quite Navy
Cardstock: Fabriano Hot pressed watercolour paper
Also:  Silver e.p.  aqua painter


9 Comments on “OLW 23 Heavy Metal”

  1. Terri (blindstamper) says:

    Very pretty! And I think the borders look great “loose”!

  2. Doris says:

    Very nice! Your sky looks very realistic.

  3. sue says:

    Heather, this is beautiful. I’ve never seen the Northern Lights either, but this is just what my imagination tells me they look like! Your card is beautiful.

  4. Bahb says:

    Looks like Northern Lights to me. Thanks for your many different spongings lately. I’ve learned a ton, and ruined a ton of paper trying to copy them. 😦 But “practice makes perfect”, I hope, so I’ll keep trying because your examples are sooooooo gorgeous I wanna make cards exactly like yours.

    Your daughter’s card to you blew me away, and of course made me weepy. Her silver trees convinced me snowflakes and snow embossed with silver EP is just perfect. Her card is as gorgeous as yours……must be she’s in the same gene pool. 🙂

  5. Charlene says:

    Just beautiful…love, love the watercolor!

  6. Monica K. says:

    What an awesome effect! I totally see the Northern Lights in this. I haven’t seen them either but can only imagine how amazing that must be! Stunning card!

  7. PetraB says:

    This is so beautiful, love the snowflakes.

  8. WOW! Awesome technique and a fabulous card! I couldn’t have pulled that one off..but you did a wonderful job with the watercoloring!

  9. Dallas says:

    All your cards are fabulous and this is no exception!!

    I’ve lived in Canada all my life and only seen the Northern Lights once or twice … you’ve got the look and feel of them for sure!!

    Once I get a little braver, I’m going to try copying various techniques that you’ve used … hope you don’t mind but you’re a great inspiration to at least see if I can come close :o)


Leave a comment