Less is More challenge

I had a chance to make a card for the new Less is More challenge blog over the weekend.  The colours of the challenge were black, white and pink.  Unfortunately this scan makes the pinks look a lot bolder than they are.  The sponged pinks look much softer and the darkest colour, Rose Red does not look so red on the card.  I am pretty fussy about colour matching so the pinks and reds clashing here are not pleasing me.  Edited to add the photo below taken on a friend’s camera.  You can see the colours are a little softer.

I used post it notes to mask and kept moving the bottom one up a little between spongings, changing from Pretty in Pink to Rose Red half way through.  I stamped the Queen  Anne’s Lace and the sentiment in black and extended the stems with a fine tip marker.

Make sure you check out the new blog, the challenge already has close to 100 participants, so it is off to a great start.

Supplies:

Stamps: Garden Silhouettes,  Graceful words
Inks: Pretty in Pink, Rose Red, Basic Black
Cardstock: Flourishes Classic White


19 Comments on “Less is More challenge”

  1. *Chrissie* says:

    This is really interesting effect Heather, I love the transition of colour!
    Thanks so much for your kind words and I really appreciate your taking part in our first challenge!
    I really hope you can become a regular participant!
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

  2. Beautifully done! I never think to sponge the ink like that. (Of course, I probably wouldn’t get it straight! LOL!) Awesome card!

  3. Love this technique… and thanks for sharing how to do it too… you have inspired me to go have a play now… fine… all I need another excuse to step into the craft room and away from the house work ! cheers x

  4. Suze Bain says:

    This is a beautiful card – I love your work. x

  5. I love this – the bands of colours are super, and the image is fabulous!!

  6. Kathyk says:

    Such a pretty card

    Kathyk

  7. Kathie says:

    This is a stunning card! Very well done.

  8. Lynne says:

    Very pretty card. Your sponging technique is very impressive.
    Lynne xxx

  9. mandi says:

    Super technique, looks so neat
    Thanks for taking part for our first challenge, hope to see you again next week

    mandi
    “Less is More”

  10. Donna H says:

    Lovely. I like everything you create.

  11. Ardyth says:

    You are the Queen of the Sponge. And I mean that better than it sounds! LOL!

  12. Donelda says:

    I LOVE this!!! Awesome stripes!!!!

  13. Miranda says:

    Hi Heather, beautiful card and what a different vieuw to the sponging technique, inspiring! Have a nice day, greetz, Miranda

  14. Great card! Love the CAS style.

    Hugs, Sandra

  15. Ruthie says:

    this is beautiful! love the technique!

  16. Ruthie says:

    this is beautiful!!! I love this technique! will have to give this one a try too! you keep us all on our toes!! and that’s a gooood thing!

  17. Lindsey says:

    This is beautiful, even if the colours aren’t quite coming true! Drives me crazy too, when I can’t get my photo to look like my card… 😛

  18. What an AWESOME variation on your sponging! LOVE it!


Leave a comment