Snow Storm

I came home and created this card last Sunday after walking my son down to the park to play hockey on the rink with his buddies.  The snow was coming down very steadily and it was beautiful.  I decided to try and recreate the scene on a card. I know spring might be showing its face in some places but I think we have a bit of winter to live through yet.

I started with two masks and then flicked masking fluid all over the panel.  When the masking fluid was dry I removed a few very large blobs and positioned my horizon mask.  Instead of sponging I used my new soft brayer to create the sky.  I started at the left and moved toward the right as the ink ran out so I would have the impression of light and darkness.  After the sky was done I moved the mask a couple of times adding trees and sponged snow drifts.

It really does look a bit like this during a snow storm; even after 10 years here in Canada, I still think it is a beautiful sight

Supplies:

Stamps: Branch Out, Ageless Adornment & a little tree stamp of unknown origin which really comes in handy at times
Inks:  Brocade Blue, Going Gray
Cardstock: Flourishes classic white
Also: Winsor & Newton masking fluid


21 Comments on “Snow Storm”

  1. *Chrissie* says:

    Heather this is fabulous effect. I’ve not heard of masking fluid, it’s something I must investigate!
    You must be THE authority on this technique of creating scenes!
    Wonderful!
    Chrissie

  2. Joan V says:

    Oh, this is beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Kez says:

    Absolutely stunning! I love it.

  4. Lindsey says:

    This card absolutely amazes me! It’s gorgeous.

  5. This is stunning!! Excellent job~

  6. Donna H says:

    I don’t really understand how you did this but it is awesome. I wish you’d show us step by step.

  7. Miranda says:

    Hi Heather, what a beautiful card, it must have been a delicate and mystical landscape you saw…….greetz, Miranda

  8. Valerie says:

    Love the technique Heather, stunning card.
    Check out my blog there is a little surprise there for
    you 🙂

  9. Barbara says:

    So stunning Heather! Looks so real!!

    Hugs, Barbaraxx

  10. Martha says:

    Your beautiful work has raised my spirits. Thank you so much!

  11. That is one BEAUTIFUL card. I really like the effects.
    Taking a look at your blog from Valerie’s blog where she gave you the Stylish Blogger’s Award.
    Hugs, Sandra

  12. Kathie says:

    You have captured the night snow storm. Very beautifully done!

  13. JeanFB says:

    Wow, wow, and more wow! This scene is stunning! The flicked masking fluid is perfect for your snowstorm!

  14. Joy says:

    At first, I thought this was a picture you had taken until I read below to find out how you did it.

  15. Anke says:

    Absolutely stunning Heather, so beautiful …

  16. Paulette S in MO says:

    LOL, I’m with Joy, it has the effect of taking a picture in the snow, with the movement of the snow and a flash. It’s outstanding, and like so many others, I don’t know about masking fluid. Do you do video tutorials? Your scenes are so life like. Just amazing. =D

  17. Kathy says:

    Love, love, love, love, love! You make the prettiest snow scenes ever. Flicking the masking fluid was an awesome idea. So much depth and light and beauty in your scene!

  18. Sue says:

    I am in awe…. That’s all I can say….
    I am going to have to have a go with the masking fluid. Looks such fun.
    The card by the way is just stunning.

  19. Donna Amos says:

    Very nicely done and so life like. Haven’t heard of masking fluid. YOu do a very fine job!

  20. fran lujan says:

    Can you do a video of this card? I just love it, quite beautiful! I have never heard of masking fluid! Sure want to give it a try! As always, I just love all your work!

    • Heather says:

      Hi Fran,
      Thanks for your kind words. I will keep your request in mind when I am doing snow scenes again. This one is a favourite of mine too.


Leave a comment