OWL 41 It’s Christmas…

Susan threw out a challenge this week to create a one layer Christmas card on white or cream using only green and red.  I am certainly not in Christmas card mode, but it doesn’t hurt to start early.  This one was finished before I realized I hadn’t checked if natural flecked cardstock was allowed in the challenge.  Natural  is indeed permitted so here is my masked and slightly sponged panel card.  Before stamping and sponging I flicked masking fluid on the panel.  Masking fluid is used by painters to mask areas they want to preserve as white while they are painting the rest of the painting.  You paint (or flick) it on and when you’re finished you peel it off to reveal white spaces.

Not too much of a stretch from my usual but I did put the sentiment on top of the panel for a change.  Thanks for dropping by.

Supplies:
Stamps:   All that Glitters(Flourishes), Hugs and Wishes( SU)
Inks: Mellow Moss, Real Red, Always Artichoke (all SU)
Cardstock: SU Natural white cardstock


9 Comments on “OWL 41 It’s Christmas…”

  1. JeanFB says:

    Beautiful! So creative, with so much texture and interest. I am becoming fascinated with how different people approach one layer cards (trying to learn some techniques myself), and this is spectacular!

  2. Valerie says:

    Beautiful card Heather, so effective 🙂

  3. Bonnie says:

    I love your strip of greenery! This is a card I hope to remember when it’s time to really get into making Christmas cards!

  4. Susan Goetter says:

    Wow, Heather!!! I’m loving this design! I might just have to try that technique! TFS!

  5. I like this design – and can imagine it being used for other types of card too. It’s great!!

  6. GORGEOUS card, Heather. Perfect masking.. wonderful design. LOVE this!

  7. Mary P says:

    Love this card! “Warm Wishes” is the right sentiment because it really does make me feel all warm and cozy inside just looking at it.
    Perfect colors, gorgeous greenery!

  8. Ardyth says:

    Love it!

  9. I had planned on giving my masking fluid to my artist mom, but I should pull it out and give this a try…it looks stunning! Love the colors, layout, and detail of your card, Heather!


Leave a comment