Pastel Panels

The current challenge from Mandi and Chrissie at Less is More is to use pastel colours. I tried three different designs before settling on the one above. The totally pastel colour scheme gave me trouble, but that’s part of the challenge isn’t it?  I have set aside the other attempts to transform into something else when inspiration hits.

I cut my cuttlebug panel in three strips and sponged in celery, amethyst and pretty in pink. I popped up the strips before adding some gingham ribbon and a little oval tag.

Supplies:

Stamps: Teensy Tiny Wishes (SU)
Inks: Pretty in Pink, Certainly Celery, Almost Amethyst
Cardstock: Flourishes Classic white
Also: Cuttlebug Birds and Swirls folder, pink gingham ribbon


22 Comments on “Pastel Panels”

  1. Christy says:

    I have to say I love, love, love this card. I love the panels and the colors. I think I will use this for inspiration in future cards. TFS!

    Christy
    http://christybladehandmade.blogspot.com

  2. Anke says:

    Wonderful card, great idea Heather

  3. Frieda says:

    Hey, was für eine gandiose Idee !

    Ich liiiieeeebe Deine schönen Karten !!!!

    Sie sind immer ganz große klasse !

    liebe Grüße
    Frieda

  4. *Chrissie* says:

    Pastel colours gave me a headache too Heather… but you have come up with another great design.
    I’ve never tried using an embossing folder in this way, thanks for the inspiration!
    See you next time!
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

  5. mandi says:

    Hi heather
    This is a super submission, love how you have worked the colours
    For a dramatic effect another time I bet a blck ribbon and sentiment would look great too!
    Super work, thank you!
    mandi
    “Less is More”

  6. Vicky says:

    Heather you are such an inspiration and I’m beginning to get quite fond of pastels! Your card is beautiful – sponging the embossed card stock gives such a lovely effect. (I have a big shot arriving today and I am SO excited!)

  7. Valerie says:

    What a great idea Heather, I’ve never thought of doing this with the folders! I love how many ideas I am getting from doing the LIM challenge!
    Val x

  8. You ROCKED this challenge! What a beautiful use of embossing, too!

  9. sue says:

    Lovely, Heather! And with this color scheme of light pink, green, and lavender, it would make a perfect Easter card. Sponging makes it glow. Beautiful!

  10. Kim S says:

    So simple – yet absolutely stunning!

  11. Kathie says:

    What a stunning card!

  12. Oh how beautiful! What a wonderful design.

  13. Daizy-Mae says:

    Great card Heather, such a great use of the folder too well done :O) Viv xx

  14. Susan says:

    Heather…WOW! Thanks for the great insiration! I have that EF…and now I know another way to use it! Fabulous design!

  15. Liza says:

    A stunning card Heather, I really love the design and the pretty colours.

    Liza x

  16. nancy littrell says:

    very pretty and yet, so easy…..TFS

  17. Lynne K says:

    This is a really lovely design, and a great way to use the embossing folder. I like the way you’ve tied the ribbon too! Lynne

  18. Aileen says:

    Love your panels and the colours you’ve chosen to sponge them with. x

  19. Daizy-Mae says:

    This looks fabulous, just bought a brayer must master the technique now lol :O) Viv xx

  20. Angelnorth says:

    What a pretty result! Amazing how many of us seem to have struggled with a pastel palette though!

  21. choupynette says:

    you did a superb job with this one! I didn’t like pastel colours before i entered the challenge… now i’m not so adverse to it any more! 😉

  22. Helen says:

    OMW so pretty and so clever! TFS
    Helen — Firenze Cards


Leave a comment