Green silhouettes

I decided to play around with some greens to create this card.  To me it has a bit of a misty rainforest look.

I created the stamped panel first on certainly celery cardstock as follows:

  1. flick masking fluid around
  2. stamp branch in versamark
  3. stamp branch in artichoke
  4. emboss in clear
  5. brayer celery ink over whole panel
  6. brayer artichoke ink on left side of panel
  7. remove masking fluid

Although I didn’t used black on the stamped panel, black looked better than artichoke for framing the panel.

Edited to add:  Several people asked about Masking fluid.  It is a liquid you will find in the paint section of the art store.  You use it to paint in the areas of a painting that you want free of paint, such as white highlights.  When you have finished applying the surround paint you peel off the masking fluid and the paper underneath is untouched.  I bought it to use when watercolour painting but it is very handy with stamping as well

Thanks for dropping in today.

Supplies:

Stamps: Garden Silhouettes, All Year Cheer (SU)
Inks: Versamark, Always Artichoke, Certainly Celery
Cardstock: Certainly Celery, Basic Black
Also: Clear e.p. Masking fluid(Windsor & Newton)


18 Comments on “Green silhouettes”

  1. OUTSTANDING!! Oh my but this is just stunning!

    what is masking fluid?

  2. sue says:

    Beautiful card, as always, Heather. Is masking fluid something like “glossy accents”? Thanks for the instructions – I’ll be using them! I love the garden silhouettes set, and you use it so well!

  3. Lynne K says:

    Beautiful card! I’ve never thought of using masking fluid in that way, what a clever idea. Lynne

  4. Miranda says:

    Love the greens! Beautiful card, greetz, Miranda

  5. marty ferraro says:

    oh my!
    it is difficult to type with my jaw dropping onto the floor. this card is truly amazing. you are soo creative. thanks for the inspiration!
    marty ferraro

  6. Daizy-Mae says:

    Oops left comment on last post again by mistake!great card love the brayering…………got to master that yet! Viv xx

  7. Vicky says:

    Your cards really do pack a punch and this one is another work of art! I love the illusion of depth you’ve achieved. Think I might have to pop some masking fluid onto my shopping list!

  8. Lindsey says:

    I do enjoy instructions such as “flick masking fluid around”! 😉 This is a beautiful card! I like that large sentiment paired with the image, too.

  9. I am so in love with your work! This is exquisite. I had never heard of the masking fluid.. It is incredible.

  10. Sue says:

    Another beautiful card. I am in awe of your work. I have got to have a go with some masking fluid, I have some just not used it yet. I have your blog bookmarked. You are such an inspiration thank you.

  11. massofhair says:

    Wowser your card it so amazing, awesome and so inspiring. Has to be my favourite technique based card of this week. You are very talented and inspirational and i am looking forward to seeing more of your creativity:-)

  12. Dotty says:

    Absolutely GORGEOUS!!!

  13. choupynette says:

    i’m in love with this card!! bravo!

  14. Anke says:

    WOW WOW WOW this card is so beautiful Heather, absolutely stunning.

    Anke

  15. Fran Harding says:

    You make them all so beautiful. I’ve been following your blog a few months and every post is an inspiration. You break down the steps and make them so simple, right? Not! I bought masking fluid after seeing this and a few other cards you had used it on. Now I need “flicking” instructions! What kind of brush works best? I’ve made a big mess trying all different sizes. Do you care to share a few more tips with the art challenged? I’d be very grateful.

  16. […] had never heard of masking fluid until I saw this post on Heather Telford’s blog.  I loved it so much and have been wanting to try it ever […]

  17. Lauren M says:

    What beautiful work – you are a wealth of teaching inspiration, thank you so much for sharing!

  18. Lori Craig says:

    This is beautiful!


Leave a comment