Aqua and Green together

I needed a card for a bridal shower on the weekend.  Looking around for inspiration I decided to take my colour scheme from the gift bag I was using.  The gift bag was very geometric in its design but I didn’t follow that I just needed the pretty summery colours: aqua and green.

I cut a mask in a post it note and brayered tempting turquoise and certainly celery.  I then removed the mask and stamped the daisies in black.  It took countless repetitions with the daisy stamp before I had a solid image.  Even when I stopped it did not quite have complete coverage.  I was using my SU classic basic black ink pad.  It is not that old so I am a bit frustrated that I find it hard to completely ink a larger stamp with it.  If anyone has a favourite black inkpad please let me know.  It might be time to branch out.

I matted the image panel and then tried a white card base and a turquoise; as you can see the turquoise won the challenge.

My daughters and I went to the bridal shower and enjoyed watching the bride ooh and aah about all her lovely homewares.  She is getting married in August and my girls are going to play violin at the wedding.  It will be the first of three weddings they are playing at this summer. I guess I should be thinking about wedding cards too.

Supplies:

Stamps:  Upsy Daisy , Hugs & Wishes(SU)
Inks: Tempting Turquoise, Certainly Celery, Basic Black
Cardstock: Flourishes Classic White, Tempting Turquoise, Certainly Celery


18 Comments on “Aqua and Green together”

  1. Donna H says:

    So pretty. I love all your cards. I love Versafine black. It never wears out.

  2. Susan Bridgman says:

    I love Memento Tuxedo Black ink – it’s always my go-to black (unless I’m heat embossing and then I use Versafine Onyx Black). I love your card!

  3. Marja says:

    Heather this is gorgeous again. Beautiful. Love the colours and styling.
    Greet Marja

  4. Vicky says:

    These colours are gorgeous together! I love the way your cards always remind me of a feeling – this time the heat of a summer evening. Your daughters sound very musically talented!

    Your black ink pad shouldn’t be dry if it’s fairly new – I’ve had mine for over three years and never had to re-ink it. Stampin’ Up offer great customer support and your demonstrator will be glad to change it if it’s faulty. When I’m using a large stamp I lay it down rubber side up and take the ink pad to it rather than the other way round. Also, with a solid image like these daisies, I sort of wipe the inkpad over it before tapping to ensure good coverage. Hope this helps! Vx

  5. sue says:

    This is so pretty! I have this stamp, and have used it in white on colored CS, but yours is much prettier. Did you really use a brayer instead of a sponge? It’s unbelievably smooth and graduated in color; very, very pretty. I like the oval in contrast to the square edges, too. And of course, the celery and turquoise are gorgeous. I’m sure the bride was impressed. I, too, have trouble inking up that stamp — that is why I resorted to SU’s Craft whisper white ink, embossed with white powder. Silhouette stamps always give me trouble, and I usually resort to embossing them. Sometimes I fill in with markers, but I’m never happy with that. Embossing hides a lot! Beautiful card, Heather. How proud you must be of your girls!

  6. Leslee says:

    Very beautiful card! Love the color combo. I so enjoy seeing your brayer work. Thanks!!

  7. ir says:

    Lovely card as always. I also swipe my inkpad over the stamp, and I use versafine onyx black. It’s good for large stamps and ones with lots of thin lines in the design.

  8. Lindsey says:

    This is so pretty, Heather! The turquoise background really makes the card, I think. Isn’t it frustrating when an image doesn’t ink properly? You must have been using a stamp positioner to be able to re-stamp.
    I have many black ink pads! My go-to is Versafine onyx black (a popular choice here, it seems!) but I used a friend’s Memories black ink pad recently, and it gave a really clean, solid image, too. Then again, I also like my Memento tuxedo black; and my Brilliance graphite black for when I emboss.
    (Also, thanks for your lovely comments on my blog!)

  9. Margaret Anne Clark says:

    Versafine, Versafine, Versafine. Totally my goto for EVERYTHING. Also, try stamping with your cardstock on a mouse mat (soft side up ) as it helps to catch the bits that are a tad uneven. HTH !!

  10. Gorgeous colors and beautiful design. Love this!

  11. Mary P says:

    beautiful card as always! I gave up on my SU black a long time ago.

    Ranger Adirondack PItch Black pigment ink gives pretty good coverage; but you have to wait for it to dry or heat set. Also, I’ve never used Flourishes paper so I don’t know how it compares to SU. But paper can make a difference in whether you get a good SOLID “solid” image or not.

    For instance, I can get it solid on Whisper White Ultra Smooth, but not on Naturals White. Just something to consider.

  12. Paula Rough says:

    I love your card, it is one of the prettiest I’ve seen made with the Upsy Daisy set. the oval really sets it off. I have a couple of suggestions for inking the solid stamps. It may not be your ink pad but the stamp itself. When the stamps are made they have a coating on them to get them to release fromt he mold and it stays on the rubber so a slight sanding with a sanding block helps prepare the rubber for really picking up the ink. The paper makes a huge difference also. I have done some experimenting with white card stock and SU whisper white is a super smooth surface that inks well. My favorite black ink pad is from Personal Stamp Exchange. It was the very first pad I ever got I think I have had it for 15 years and I have re-inked it once and I used it yesterday and it is so juicy and great I can hardly believe it. I don’t know what happened to that company though. The item # on it is RD 124 if you could find it. Also you could always color in the image once it is stamped, just take your black marker and fill in any areas that need darkening, this has also worked really well for me. See this post. http://atpaulasplace.blogspot.com/2011/07/out-west-they-are-patriotic.html Thanks for sharing all your work it’s beautiful.

  13. Sheila in Cyprus says:

    Oh WOW! This is beautiful. A lovely choice of colours and a fabulous contrast with the black of the flowers. Love Sheila x

  14. Kathie says:

    Could you give more details about how you got the subtle color changes with your brayer? Mine comes out with harsh lines every time. Thanks.

  15. Ellen Roth says:

    Beautiful card! I’m with Kathie, I can’t use my brayer w/o harsh lines. What is the secret?

  16. Kim says:

    Oh my, I LOVE this card! I love the simplicity of it and adore the colours you have choosen. I’m working on creating my own version of it… it is a bit of a challenge for me. Thank you so much for your inspiration! I enjoy looking at your blog.

  17. LaNell says:

    Love, love my Versa Fine Onyx Black.

  18. RedGem says:

    Several people have already suggested my favorite black inkpad… versafine onyx! But I would also suggest that if your image is not filled in to take a blender pen and run it on the inkpad and then color in the image. Using a marker will be too dark on the image, but using a blender pen will give it just a lighter color but will fill in the image.


Leave a comment