Less is More 30 Take Three

The Less is More challenge this week is to revisit three of their previous challenges, combining them in one new card.  I was inspired by a clever and vibrant card by Lydia of Understand Blue.

I revisited the following Less is More challenges:

  1. Week 6. Off the Edge
  2. Week 13. Thank you or Congratulations
  3. Week 28. Use Ink

I masked the top and bottom of the card with post-its then accepted the challenge to use ink in a new way.  I rarely use the direct to paper effect with an ink pad but it does make a bold stripe of colour. After swiping the three ink pads I added the silhouette, removed the masks and added the sentiment.

Thank you to all the kind visitors who drop by here.  I appreciated your comments regarding the weddings where my girls have been playing violin. The one last week in a garden did have great weather and all went beautifully.  They are playing at the last one today; it was also meant to be outside, on a porch overlooking a beautiful garden.  When I dropped them off it was beginning to rain and was also windy so I imagine the wedding was moved inside.  If you are interested I have posted photos of my girls on my family blog.

Supplies:

Stamps: Garden Silhouettes, Thankyou Kindly (SU)
Inks: Not quite Navy, More MustardRuby Red (SU), Versafine Black Onyx
Cardstock: Flourishes Classic Ivory


21 Comments on “Less is More 30 Take Three”

  1. sue says:

    Beautiful card! I think this might be a little out of your comfort range, but you did a lovely job of it! I love the colors you used, and the stamp set is one of my favorites. This is very, very pretty!

  2. Lindsey says:

    This is perfect, Heather! I had admired that card of Lydia’s, too, and you did it more than justice. Too bad Irene got in the way of that last outdoor wedding.

  3. LaNell says:

    Love your postings. CAS is wonderful! Thanks.

  4. Aileen says:

    Very striking technique. The colours are fab and I love the silhouetted images. x

  5. Sylvia-Anne says:

    A superb card Heather – a very effective inking technique and glorious colours.
    Sylvia x

  6. mandi says:

    Fabulous card Linda. Superb inspiration from Linda. Isnt; it wonderful how we gather inspiration from each other
    Great entry

    Thank you very much
    Mandi Diva LIM
    “Less is More”

  7. Kathyk says:

    Fab card and such a lovely colour selection too

    Kathyk

  8. Suze Bain says:

    Beautiful card. Fabulous inking. xx

  9. Jacqueline says:

    This is very pretty, love it!

  10. Marja says:

    Heather this is so elegant and beautiful again. Love the Less is More cards very much. It seems so easy but I know that isn’t it.
    Splendid.
    greet Marja

  11. Jenni's Jems says:

    Love the blocks of colour and great job of inking! x

  12. Chrissie says:

    This is lovely Heather.. a technique I haven’t tried before… I may just have a go… you have always been such a source of inspiration to me.
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

  13. Vicky says:

    What a brilliant effect the swiping you card base with ink pads gives – must have a go at this! Your silhouetted plants look fantastic against this background.

  14. Carol says:

    Super card Heather, your inked background looks fab. Carol x

  15. Pauline says:

    Absolutely beautiful, I must try that ink technique.

  16. Sasha says:

    Gorgeous stamping, and great colouring technique!

  17. Linby says:

    I actually prefer your design to the one you cased. A great card – must try that technique.
    Love how you altered the dresses for your girls too – very creative.
    Linbyx

  18. Jen W. says:

    Gorgeous! What an awesome effect! Can’t wait to try it. 🙂

  19. gibmiss says:

    Hi Heather
    Gorgeous card love it….you are sooo good as these cards ….
    Hugs sylvie
    xx

  20. Ann Y says:

    This is very striking. I’ve never used ink this way. Something new to try . . .

  21. GinaA says:

    Love this card, very classy.


Leave a comment