Less is More Snow

This week the challenge on the Less is More blog is a One Layer Card featuring snow.  I love doing snow scenes and have been looking for a window of opportunity to do one or two.

I started by masking the top and bottom of the card base to leave a panel where I could brayer the sky. I also added a moon mask. To create falling snow I flicked masking fluid all over the card base and let it dry. I then brayered Taken with Teal ink over the panel, working from right to left so it would be lighter around the moon.  After I removed the masks I used a wavy hill mask to sponge in some snow drifts and stamp some clumps of trees.

Still nowhere near this amount of snow around here, but there are two weeks before Christmas so it could still be white. Thanks for dropping in, I hope you have a great week.

Supplies:

Stamps: Wondrous Gift, a little tree stamp from Embassy Arts
Inks:  Versafine Onyx Black, Taken with Teal
Cardstock: MFP  Snow Storm Smooth Heavy
Also: Winsor & Newton masking fluid


41 Comments on “Less is More Snow”

  1. Yoou ROCKED out another one Heather! STUNNING~

  2. Godelieve says:

    Wow, how gorgeous is this!!

  3. carla says:

    it is a great card, love it!

  4. Ann Y says:

    You make the most beautiful scenes, Heather. This one is no exception. Just gorgeous.

  5. Beautiful scenery. Fabulous!!!!

  6. Aileen says:

    Beautiful snowy scene. x

  7. Kathyk says:

    Simply beautiful – a card anyone would love to receive

    Kathyk

  8. KK says:

    Absolutely wonderful! I love this x

  9. Heather I am in awe of this stunning card, it is perfect
    Anne
    x

  10. Meadie says:

    Your card is just stunning – I love how you have made this! xx

  11. Paula says:

    This is absolutely divine! Love your work!!

  12. Julie says:

    Stunning scene! Absolutely beautiful card!
    Love it would love to see a white Christmas one day as well.

  13. Oh wow what an amazing card, I just love it, my fav LIM card so far, well done :O) Viv xx

  14. Marja says:

    This is so your style and I love it so much Heather. It is breathtaking again.
    BEUTIFUL.
    Lovely greet
    Marja

  15. fiona says:

    Simply stunning. Well done on a superb card.

  16. sue says:

    Omygoodness, Heather, this is so beautiful. What a fantastic winter scene. I really love this.

  17. Suze Bain says:

    Wow, this is a beautiful card. Love the trees and the snowy sky. xx

  18. Vicky says:

    Utter, utter perfection Heather! The scene is quite magical.

  19. mandi says:

    Sheer perfection, I;m in awe

    Many thanks Heather
    Mandi LIM

  20. Gilly says:

    Simply beautiful

  21. valerie says:

    Stunning Heather, it looks so real I feel I could just walk out to those trees!
    Val x

  22. Lindsey says:

    Absolutely beautiful! You are the master of brayering and masking, Heather. 🙂

  23. Gorgeous scene, Heather. I love this technique so much!!

  24. Wonderful! so beautiful, I think I am going to have to learn to use a brayer!

  25. jennis jems says:

    wow this is gorgeous! x

  26. Victoria says:

    WOW! I absolutely love this card. Beautiful sentiment to complement the scene too.

  27. CaroleC says:

    Wow this is simply gorgeous. This is my favorite LIM card this week. I love the feel of this beauty.

    TFS
    Carole

  28. mustavcoffee says:

    Hello Heather, This is stunning, I love the snowy effect in the sky , altogether brilliant Gay xx

  29. Mynnette says:

    This is absolutely amazing! I am so scared of masking–you’re fabulous at it! This is truly a work of art!!!

  30. lisa says:

    wonderwonderwonderfull!!!!!!

  31. Susan says:

    This card is B E A U T I F U L!!!! I adore everything about it! What a great idea with the masking fluid. Who makes that tree stamp….I believe it is a MUST HAVE for my stamping!! Love, love, love this!!!!

  32. Maggie says:

    Gorgeous card and snow scene!

  33. OMG! This is just AMAZING. I love how you created the scene. x

  34. Annchen says:

    OMG, this is so amazing!

  35. Avril B says:

    This is a stunning card, Fabulous brayering and masking.
    Avril

  36. Melanie says:

    Among hundreds of Christmas cards in the SCS Gallery this has to take First Prize, especially because the peaceful feel is so perfect with that sentiment and the way you brayer and sponge makes the scene so real. It couldn’t be more perfect.

    Mel

  37. Judy says:

    I love this beautiful and serene scene that you have created!

  38. Gail says:

    wow!! all i can say..i loooove it..tfs..loves ya

  39. Daria says:

    Beautiful!

  40. Dee Fraumeni says:

    Hi,

    I realise this post is about 7 years ago (I just saw your beautiful card on Pinterest) but do you remember how you removed the masking fluid afterwards? Also, does the masking fluid take long to dry before you can begin brayering the sky? And finally, was this all done on glossy cardstock as I’ve heard that works best for brayering, to get good blending of the colour?

    Thank you and regards,
    Dee (from Australia)


Leave a comment