Less is More Masking

The challenge at the Less is More blog this week is to use masking. Well that is not a challenge at all; it is more of a challenge not to!

I masked the rectangular panel first and then positioned a second mask across the panel to make the hilly horizon. Above the horizon I sponged sunrise colours and below the grassy colours. After removing the hill mask I added the flowers from Darkroom Door, removed all the masks and finally added the sentiment from Penny Black. I like the way this sentiment looks like a hastily handwritten note.

Have a great day; I hope the sun is shining where you are!

Supplies:

Stamps: Wildflowers Vol 2 (Darkroom Door), Thinking of You (PB)
Inks: Summer Sun, Pumpkin Pie, True Thyme, Old Olive, Buckaroo Blue (SU), Versafine Onyx Black
Cardstock: Flourishes Classic Ivory


33 Comments on “Less is More Masking”

  1. Kathyk says:

    I can’t see the photo of your card for some reason but the blog thumbnail on SimplyLessIsMore looks gorgeous

    Kathyk

  2. Jean Cross says:

    Yes, the placement of the sentiment is perfect, Heather. On another note, I am feeling a little guilty. I cased a technique of yours this week for a challenge on splitcoaststampers ang have received beau coup accolades. Even though I gave you credit, I feel odd about it. Sorry.

  3. Such gorgeous depth of color! Well done~

  4. Jen says:

    Beautiful as always. Love the sentiment you used. Can you give me the details about this sentiment I would like to buy it. Thanks Jen

  5. Carole says:

    Hi Heather, your card has so much warmth and character … so very lovely!

  6. Pam Sparks says:

    beautiful Heather!

  7. Trudi says:

    Fabulous – like you I love the way the sentiment looks handwritten

  8. Viv says:

    Fabulous sunset scene Heather, …yes I agree about the sentiment too 🙂 Viv xx

  9. Missy says:

    Heather – Your work is always inspiring and beautiful. What is your secret to getting your masking straight?

    Missy

  10. Ardyth says:

    Love the intensity of the colours and that sentiment – who is PB?

  11. Gibmiss says:

    H heather
    This is just up your street…. So easypeasy for you …. Fabulous card ….
    Hugs Sylvie xxxxx

  12. Sue says:

    I always love your cards. fab card as always.

  13. Elaine says:

    Great card – love your colouring! It really stood out in the thumbnails!

  14. GinaA says:

    Beautiful landscape makes a fab card.

  15. stempelomi says:

    great card Heather! I love it!

  16. Chrissie says:

    As stunning as ever Heather!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

  17. Cathy A says:

    Heather I just love how you have placed the sentiment for this at a jaunty angle!

  18. Marja says:

    So gorgeous again Heather. The colors and the depth of this card. Beautiful.
    Lovely greet
    Marja

  19. mandi says:

    Walk in the park for you Heather!
    Sensational as always
    Thank you very much
    mandi
    “Less is More”

  20. Bahb says:

    Hmmmm, I wonder if these gorgeous cards you do really are a “walk in the park” for you or anyone else. Seems like a TON of work to get that color so saturated and shaded and without any streaks or gunky look like I get when I sponge.

    Jean Cross cracked me up. I CASE your cards EVERY day but never have to “worry” that posting one in my Gallery would reap applause. if that day ever arrives, I would consider it a miracle. But I sure have fun trying.

    Thanks for sharing!

  21. Margaret says:

    Stunning Heather
    Margaret x

  22. Lindsey says:

    Well yes, they did rather set that challenge with you in mind, didn’t they? It doesn’t matter, as you’ve created another beauty here. I really like the vibrant colours backing the silhouette.
    Did the fog finally burn off in Ottawa? We had a warm, mostly sunny day here, with predictions of 24 (!!!) for Tuesday and Wednesday. Bring it on, I say!

  23. Vicky says:

    Your masked creations are always a delight to see Heather and I’ve been waiting for yours to appear in this week’s gallery! I agree about the sentiment – I always like sentiments that look handwritten – and what beautiful colours you’ve chosen to showcase your silhouetted plants against.

  24. Caggy says:

    Very striking, love the sentiment, Caggy x

  25. Heather I love the silhouette design against the blended colors. Gorgeous!

  26. Annchen says:

    absolutly stunning!

  27. Aileen says:

    Gorgeous colours, so beautiful. x

  28. Linda says:

    A very striking card, love the dramatic silhouette image.

  29. Victoria says:

    What incredible stunning colour! I love this card!

  30. Sylvia-Anne says:

    Beautiful colours and a wonderful silhouette image. Love the “handwritten” style sentiment .
    Sylvia x

  31. Vicky says:

    What a wonderfully dramatic effect you’ve achieved with the silhouette against these glowing colours Heather!


Leave a comment