Birthday Butterflies

There are birthday cards to enjoy on the Penny Black Blog today. I made one in a summery yellow colour scheme featuring the one of the butterflies from the new Free Flight set. The challenge at Less is More this week is Yellow so this one fits the bill.

I used one of my favourite layouts and techniques. This layout is scattered throughout my blog. I masked with post-it notes and then embossed the butterflies in clear before sponging in  yellow.  I added a few butterflies in yellow, then sponged in a pale orange, more butterflies, some text and then removed the masks. To finish off I added a two tone butterfly and a two tone sentiment.

The new OLW challenge is up on Jennifer’s blog; check it out.

Supplies

Stamps: Free Flight , Letter Background, Flourish Birthday (PB)
Ink: Memento Daffodil, Cantaloupe, Tangelo, Versamark (Tsukineko)
Also: Clear e.p.


31 Comments on “Birthday Butterflies”

  1. scrapgirl1467 says:

    Heather, do you have a video anywhere of the “masking” technique with post-it’s you mentioned? I am a visual person and learn better when I see something being done, than just reading about it. Thanks!

  2. Marja says:

    Heather this is such a greast work and I adore the butterflies. Your technique is wonderful.
    Lovely greet
    Marja

  3. Elaine says:

    Gorgeous card – very bright and cheerful. Love all the layers you’ve created and the top left butterfly which balances the sentiment!!

  4. Wow! Just gorgeous.

  5. Dorothy Turk says:

    I do love this style, too… I wonder if you might have a step by step tutorial for it? I’m pretty new to all this and am not quite sure of the technique. Thanks!

  6. Ann Wills says:

    love this card, simple but elegant – great use of couours

  7. Bev J. says:

    Pretty-like the letter background!

  8. Lynette says:

    This is such an awesome technique and layout! I did case one of your cards on SCS, but I need to do more! Very inspiring!!

  9. sue says:

    Heather, your mix of inked and embossed butterflies is so pretty! I love the colors you used, as well as layering the butterflies over text. Just lovely! You set such a high bar for all of us!

  10. Vicky says:

    Fabulous Heather! We’re having a run of dire weather in the UK and all these yellow LiM cards have really cheered me up this week! I’ve been thinking about OLW but the shaped card is my nemesis! Have a great weekend! Vicky x

  11. Sally H says:

    Stunning card, Heather. Those butterflies are beautiful and I love the different tones of yellow you achieved

  12. As you know, I LOVE your creations SO MUCH!! This is another gorgeous design, Heather.

  13. Jan Castle says:

    You never disappoint…another winner Heather! I sooooooooooooooo enjoy your projects!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  14. chrissieann says:

    This card is like a signature piece of yours Heather… it’s simply beautiful!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

  15. Vicky says:

    Absolutely stunning! :)x

  16. That is just unbelieably stunning!

  17. Karen Bourke says:

    Heather – yet another beautiful card. Just gorgeous.

  18. sgoetter says:

    Heather….just wow! So gorgeous!!! Love it!

  19. Jenny M says:

    The way you’ve used the yellow is gorgeous,… such a happy card :0)
    Jenny x

  20. Gery says:

    Keep your widows closed Heather!
    Your butterflies seem to fly away from your card. It’s beautiful.
    The yellow makes it quite a sunny card.
    Groetjes Gery

  21. Gery says:

    I, of course meant, that you should have kept your WINDOWS closed :-))
    Gery

  22. Lindsey says:

    I like how just the one butterfly extends beyond the masked borders. And what a sunny colour palette!

  23. Brenda says:

    Another beautiful creation heather, this one is bursting with sunshine.

    I don;t seem to be getting updates to your new posts, so will go sign in to the notifications again.

    B x

  24. Anna says:

    a lovely card. The text lightly stamped as part of the background is a nice touch, that and the butterfly which is extends off the edge just finishes it off nicely. x

  25. Stephanie L says:

    Oh Heather… another beauty. I love the embossing and the butterfly image off the gorgeous inky panel.

  26. mandi says:

    Terrific card Heather, super shades
    Thank you very much
    mandi
    “Less is More”

  27. Daen'Ys says:

    I love this powerful yellow.
    This card is your signature…. as always, perfectly and sooo beautiful!

  28. Debbie says:

    Love this card and technique, can’t wait to give this a try it is so pretty!!!!

  29. Ann Y . says:

    I love the way you’ve used yellow on this card. It is so bright and cheerful. Just lovely.

  30. Anke says:

    Absolutely stunning Heather, wonderful butterfly card.

  31. Jo Ann F. says:

    What a lovely card! Thanks for the info on how you did the different layers.


Leave a comment