One Stamp, Two Ways

Susan’s challenge for One Layer Wednesday this week is to use the same stamp on two different cards in two different ways. I made the top card first and when I had finished realised I had used the emboss resist technique which included sponging so I couldn’t do that again! I do tend to sponge a lot don’t I? I am not sure that the word is really in the right place. If I made this card again I would make sure there was a gap between snowflakes at the bottom of the circle instead. I made the mask for the circle with Spellbinder circle dies I had forgotten I owned. After masking a circle on this card I made two more with different designs. You’ll see them another day.

I decided to go super simple and elegant for the second card. Even though I am very comfortable with tons of white space it does seem a little empty to me. I looked among my meager supply of bling but there were nothing the right size or colour so I left it as it is. The gorgeous flourishes on the words make me happy so I’ll live with the design being minimal.

After I had made these two I returned to the emboss resist technique I used in the first one and made three more cards to complete a set of five. I’ll post the others soon.

Supplies:

Stamps:  All is Bright, Noel, Flourish Christmas (PB)
Inks: Memento Summer Sky, Nautical Blue, Danube Blue, Versamark(Tsukineko)


16 Comments on “One Stamp, Two Ways”

  1. Jan Castle says:

    Both cards are lovely Heather…can’t wait to see the others!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  2. Marja says:

    Marvelous Heather.
    Have a nice Sunday
    Lovely greet
    Marja

  3. pelliott60 says:

    What a great idea and I love both your cards. I can’t wait to try this as I love getting the most out of my stamps and this challenge will make me stretch in that direction.

  4. Anne says:

    I love both cards and I am gaining so much inspiration! I love the way you applied the colours in the top card to give the effect of a bauble…sooooo clever! I am learning! In fact I have just ordered some sponges so that I can learn your techniques! Bling doesn’t always pull a card together. Either drawing lines around your image, or dry embossing the lines to create a raised or depressed edge, frames it and can give the illusion you are looking for. Having said that I think your bottom card is just perfect and would personally not add anything else to it. Always tempting to do so isn’t it? :O) Beautiful cards, lucky recipients! TFS!

  5. anita says:

    Just a great card. Love it

    Anita

  6. Betty says:

    both your cards are so pretty but especially love the first – had to put it on my christmas pinterest board.

  7. KatieP says:

    Beautiful. Your eye for color is just unbelievable.

  8. shirley-bee says:

    Beautiful cards, Heather! I love the sponging on the top card.

  9. Judy says:

    Both cards are beautiful, Heather; I especially love the first one with emboss resist and your
    signature sponging!

  10. Maureen Chandler says:

    Beautiful cards – love the blue!

  11. Mary H. says:

    Both cards are lovely. The PB Flourish Christmas is going on my wish list. What cardstock do you usually use for your sponging? I’ve found a template, and want to try your snow-y technique. Your cards are so awesome and inspirational. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Cindy says:

    Gorgeous! You SO inspire me!!!

  13. Your cards are always so beautiful and are all very poetic too!
    Thank You for sharing them with us!

  14. Deanna says:

    Love the blue color and the second card is perfect without bling. Beautiful stamping

  15. Lindsey says:

    It’s always nice to “rediscover” supplies and put them to use! I especially like the super-clean, elegant second card.

  16. stampamateur says:

    At first I didn’t realize they were the same stamp, but as I looked again at the title and the two cards, I see that they are. I tend to favor the top one over the second one, but they are both beautiful.


Leave a comment