OLW 110 Squares

Today’s One Layer Wednesday challenge is to incorporate squares into your card. You could use a square stamp, mask a square or create patterns with squares. It is up to you as long as squares feature somehow.

I decided to challenge myself to not sponge  my squares: I thought I should think outside the box a little more than that. I have a little square acrylic block so I inked that up with two shades of green spritzed it with water then stamped it on my card. To add the maidenhair fern I used a punched mask  which was exactly the same size as the acrylic block.

Can’t wait to see your creations!

OLW110 Rules

1. A one-layer card is defined as a single layer of card stock folded in half. No other layers allowed.

2. Make a one-layer card which incorporates squares

3. Post your cards online and link to them using the InLinkz button at the end of this post.  If you link  to your blog, be sure to link to the specific post, not just your blog’s main page.

4. BE SQUARE!

Supplies:

Stamps: MaidenhairsFlourish Birthday (Penny Black)
Inks:  Memento Pistachio & Northern Pine , Versafine Onyx Black (Tsukineko)




11 Comments on “OLW 110 Squares”

  1. Marilyn says:

    You mean it’s hip to be square? Love your card!!

  2. Janet Castle says:

    Good for you…you certainly met the challenge – your card is lovely Heather!!! TFS
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  3. Marja says:

    Beautiful Heather and very special.
    lovely greet
    Marja

  4. Lovely card! Stamping with the block is so effective xx

  5. Paulette S says:

    Heather, I think your sponging is always great. But isn’t it cool that you can get so many different effects from ink? I love your cards, they are all very interesting to me. They somehow go beyond the typical one layer. Stamping with the small block is so cool. They look like tiles, but I especially love the bottom one, where the ink pooled a bit more. =D

  6. I love spritzing acrylic blocks — awesome effect!
    Perfect timing on your challenge — just got in a the perfect stamps! 🙂

  7. jmhave44 says:

    As always, a gorgeous card. Hmmm…even w/out sponging, still great look. I always enjoy something unusual when I visit here. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Lindsey says:

    NIce! I like doing the acrylic block thing, but find it rather hit and miss; I don’t think I could have managed three perfect squares the way you did! Not that I’m surprised…

  9. Angela says:

    Wow. I love your creations.

  10. Cat Craig says:

    Gorgeous, you have such beautiful cards. Enjoy my visits.

  11. […] Here are a few using the left hand side layout: holly cards, ferns […]


Leave a comment