OLW 123 Keep Warm

OLW Warm Wishes

You would think that on the week that I host the One Layer Wednesday challenge I would not find it such a challenge, since I picked the theme! Not so, I really had to think this one through. The challenge is to have a warm theme to your card. The image can be something warm, or the colour scheme or perhaps the sentiment. In the dead of winter pick something to warm us up. If you happen to be playing along in the southern hemisphere I guess you won’t be short on warm inspiration.

I decided not to go for a warm colour scheme as my previous two cards were all about colour schemes so I looked for a warm image and didn’t find one. Nonetheless I persevered and created a little sweater mask and sponged myself a sweater, adding a border  stamp to give it a little pattern and texture. Wouldn’t you know it, I did not have a stamp that said ‘warm wishes’ so I wrote it myself.

Warm Congratulations: Some of you might know Darnell of djkardkreations. She and her husband are celebrating their anniversary today so why don’t you pop over and give her some warm wishes. Have a wonderful day, Darnell. Edited to add: Ardyth is hosting an Anniversary Link party on her blog. I have added my wedding photo. see below

OLW123 Rules

1. A one-layer card is defined as a single layer of card stock. No other layers allowed.

2. Make a one-layer card with theme of warmth

3. Post your cards online and link to them using the InLinkz button at the end of this post.  If you link  to your blog, be sure to link to the specific post, not just your blog’s main page.

4. Have fun!


Supplies

Stamps: Puzzle Parts (PB)
Ink: Memento Sweet plum stamp pad and marker (Tsukineko)

wedding


17 Comments on “OLW 123 Keep Warm”

  1. Mary H. says:

    Each post you come up with something more clever than the last one. This is adorable. Love the pattern & the sweater idea too. TFS

  2. Clelie says:

    Perfect!!! And if I had as lovely a handwriting as you, I would quit buying word stamps! 🙂

  3. This is a brilliant idea – the sweater looks so warm and comfy!

  4. Jen W. says:

    That’s your handwriting?!?! If you sold it as a font I’d be first in line to buy it! It’s fabulous! And your sweater is gorgeous. Love the inking and the pattern is perfect. 🙂

  5. Ginny says:

    How cute is that?!?

  6. What a snuggley warm and sweet card … and a beautiful wedding photo too! Anita 🙂

  7. Ardyth says:

    So you just whipped up a sweater mask. Hey, who wouldn’t? lol! Once again, you make the difficult (impossible?) look easy! I’m giving some thought to my OLW card for this week. And thanks for joining in the Anniversary fun – I’m really enjoying seeing everyone’s photos and getting to know people a little better. I love blogging!

  8. Thank you so much, Heather, for the sweet anniversary wishes and for taking part in Ardyth’s wonderful wedding photo linky! I’m with her, it’s so fun to see the photos and your photo is, no surprise, absolutely beautiful! How adorably sweet and happy you two look! Could you please let me know the month and day you celebrate, so I can return the flavor in a comment on your special day? Please and thank you!

    Your OLW challenge is very open-ended and intriguing. I think, um, I’ll, why I’ll mask, ah, a, a whole textile factory and some sheep and maybe some sheep dogs. How’s that? How would your sweet little sweater look then, hmmm? You are N. Credible!!!! If you don’t stop whatever it is you’re doing and start your own line of stamps with that spectacular artistic talent and imagination you have, you are missing out, girlfriend! And WE are missing out. And you should call your company N. Credible. If you ask me.

    Mwah! Darnell

  9. Love your wedding photo – you both look so happy! This is a really fun blog party!

  10. What a fab card and such a good idea to make your own mask! I wish my handwriting was as neat as yours, if it were I would be writing my greetings too! xx

  11. shirley-bee says:

    This is so sweet, Heather! And I love the wedding photo!

  12. fiona says:

    Fabulous card, you made a sweater mask ?? How impressive is that ?

  13. […] challenges One layer Wednesday- keepwarm and Casual Friday long and CAS Friday – long or short card lengths- not an a2(my favorite […]

  14. Tiya-B says:

    love the sweater, thanks for the great theme..keeps us from doing the same ol’ things over and over…love the aniversary stuff too

  15. P.S. Thanks for sending me the date. I forgot to tell you in my earlier comment how much I love your dress! I can’t believe you made that! Oh, wait, yes I can.

  16. […] is the host of One Layer Wednesday over at Bits and Pieces this week and she’s set us the challenge to ‘Keep […]

  17. Lindsey says:

    Beautiful wedding photo! I really like that you picked the challenge before you made a card — and ended up challenging yourself! It turned out perfectly, of course. 🙂


Leave a comment