Black Damask

Black damask

A few weeks back I used the damask background stamp to make a cup. I really hadn’t used the stamp much before that. After making the cup I noticed how elegant the detail in the stamp is and decided it was time to pull it out again. I also have some beautiful new ink colours from Tsukineko which I needed to play with.

I inked diagonally across the damask stamp with Versamagic Night Sky ink and stamped it on the panel. I then inked the music background, diagonally also, in order to fill the other half of the panel. It was only after I had stamped the music that I saw that I hadn’t worked out the whole upside-down and opposite side thing properly! I’m kind of glad I got it wrong though because I ended up liking the two backgrounds overlapping and it left me with a white space to stamp some flowers.

The flowers are stamped with versamark and embossed in black so they would resist the sponging and ink droplets  added next. I sliced up the panel and matted in black and then looked for the right colour cardbase. White was too stark; black worked better but needed a little something on it. My intention was to emboss the damask background but once I had stamped it in Versafine Onyx black it showed up fine (possibly not in the photo). The wide grosgrain ribbon is pleated and stapled behind the popped up panel.

black damask detail

Supplies

Stamps: Damask Pattern, Queen Anne’s Lace, Music Background (PB)
Ink: Memento Rhubarb Stalk, Versafine Onyx Black & Versamagic Night Sky (Tsukineko)
Also: Black embossing powder


18 Comments on “Black Damask”

  1. Heather, this is really beautiful! Thanks so much for sharing.

  2. Chrissie says:

    This is gorgeous Heather, I really would like to try something similar to this! What wonderful inspiration.
    Chrissie

  3. Janet Castle says:

    Your work is always so inspiring Heather…thank you for sharing your gorgeous project, but also how you made it!!!!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  4. Mary H. says:

    Stunning. Love how you did the diagonal bit, this stamp is beautiful. Great idea with the black damask background behind the panels too. This is just lovely. TFS & explaining the how-to’s.

  5. Anne Marks says:

    Wow what a dramatic effect, i love this combination 🙂

  6. Nonni says:

    Hi Heather, I just loooooove this card!! So beautiful! I hope I could borrow your idea of using background stamps like this -I’ve never seen this before and it looks just perfect. Thank you for the wonderful inspiration!

  7. Gosh this is very different and I don’t know if it is sombre or dark elegance…the ribbon gives it the latter touch methinks! It’s all in the detail. I always find that lifting the base card with a stamp in a similar colour or ‘watermarking’ it somehow gives a subtle extra dimension and it really works well here, giving the subtle look of velvet. . The background collage, splattering and blending is really beautiful but if I may be honest, on this very cold day I’m going to look at one of your warmer, brighter projects! TFS!

  8. Marja says:

    Such inspiring work Heather. So beautiful again. Love the colors and design.
    lovely greet and nice weekend
    Marja

  9. Heather – your card is stunning! I love all the detail on it, but it still is clean and elegant.

  10. cecile53 says:

    The best ever!

  11. Lindsey says:

    Very dramatic! I’ve not quite calculated the whole reverse/diagonal/sides puzzle myself. So glad it was this happy accident!

  12. Dianne says:

    Well Heather this warms the cockles of my heart, wait I have to pick up my jaw, really an amasing piece of ART, thanks so much for sharing with everyone, have a great weekend

  13. Barbara Thomassen says:

    Lovely and striking! Tremendous work of art, definitely beyond the average word stamp. It is incredibly beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  14. This card takes my breath away! Sublime in it’s mystery.

  15. KatieP says:

    Gorgeous, another work of art.

  16. Gay says:

    Beautiful, colouring and design, I love this card Heather, the damask background stamp is so classy! Gay x

  17. Stunning card – I use black card quite a lot when using colour – It always seems to work for me! xx

  18. very pretty but also elegant card….love the subtle coloring and the detail work in your project….thanks for sharing! I found your blog via Kelly Mayou’s “blog finds of the day” on the LateNightStampers yahoo group.


Leave a comment