Spring Blessings

Spring Blessings

I have made several attempts at stamping these sweet umbrella stamps but this is the first one to be successfully turned into a card. I propped up my watercolour panel slightly to encourage the ink and water to roll down the paper then wet the whole panel and stamped the blue inkpad directly on the top of the paper. The ink spread immediately, heading down as I intended, to look like rain. I stamped the red and yellow inks on an acrylic block then picked some up with a brush and applied it to the wet watercolour paper. When the blended ink was dry I stamped the umbrellas in red and black and added colour to them with water colour pencils blended with water. I cropped on all sides before matting it with white then popping it up on a white card base.

The Penny Black blog is full of clean and simple inspiration this week, check it out if you haven’t already.

This week’s One Layer Wednesday Challenge can be found over on Susan’s blog.

Supplies:

Stamps: April Showers (PB)
Inks: Memento Danube Blue, Love letter, Dandelion ink pads & Tuxedo Black Marker(Tsukineko)
Cardstock: Fabriano 100% cotton hot pressed watercolour paper
Also: Faber-Castell watercolour pencils, blue gingham ribbon


19 Comments on “Spring Blessings”

  1. Beautiful card! I have been following your posts. Your work is beautiful. So inspiring.

  2. ednamburgess says:

    Love the effect. Your trial and error worked well. Great job. Edna

  3. Mary H. says:

    Stunning once again. Your first attempts were also very pretty I expect but this one really turned out so great. Love this effect. TFS

  4. calamityjane says:

    Heather, I love to see what you’ll do next with watercolors! You are so inspiring to me. I try something new each day in hopes to get it down better. Wish me luck and keep showing me how beautiful it can look!

  5. LaVon says:

    Heather, what beautiful card. I love the treatment of the sky. You can almost feel the spring rain. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Just lovely … feel refreshed by this spring rain.

  7. sathyakala says:

    Awesome…Love the way it turned out!!!

  8. Shirley-bee says:

    Heather, this is so stunning! I wish the rain that we get in the UK was as pretty as this, I wouldn’t mind getting wet then!

  9. Pat Gasko says:

    Such a wonderful rainy day card. Colors are great too.

  10. moonbud says:

    Heather, your watercolour cards are such an inspiration! Love this one, too.

  11. Francie in Montreal says:

    I am so please to have discovered you and your art. You have so many ideas for water colouring that inspire me. Like this card for instance. It’s fabulous. One can almost smell the rain. Thank you.

  12. Linda W says:

    Another stunning card!

  13. diana says:

    Lovely card! Thanks for sharing your ‘rain’ technique. 😉

    What type of WC paper do you use?

  14. Lindsey says:

    This is excellent! I love the watercoloured background and the bright(er) umbrellas. The blue gingham ribbon is very spring-like, too.

  15. Paulette S says:

    It is brilliant and looks just like rain coming from a few miles away.

  16. Anne from France says:

    I think this is an outstanding card with all the skill of a true watercolour artist. I love the concept, design and technique, truly outstanding! So can you make a summery card next please in the remote chance that the weather here will take note and become warm, sunny and dry?….:O) TFS!

  17. Jenny M says:

    Such a realistic effect Heather…. your image reminds me of the chalk pavement paintings in the Mary Poppins film :0)
    Jenny x

  18. Heather, I am so honored to have received this gorgeous card from you! Thank you so much for the card and your kind words. You are so sweet! I will keep this posted on my inspiration board in a place of honor!

  19. Julz says:

    Just gorgeous! I love your use of technique! 🙂

    P.S. I’m hosting a DT Call at Technique Twist – http://techniquetwist.blogspot.com if you are interested! 🙂


Leave a comment