OLW 140 Borders

OLW border

This week’s One Layer Wednesday challenge is all about making or stamping a border on your one layer card. You can use stamps designed for creating a border or you can create a border with any stamps as I did for these two cards. I masked both cards with a post-it note and then stamped and sponged below the mask so the stamping became a border pattern. On the card above I embossed a few flowers in white first,  stamped some more in red then sponged over all the flowers with yellow, orange and red. On the card below I just stamped the delicate poppy stamp three times and sponged a tiny bit to define the edge of the border. For this challenge I want the border to be the main event on the card. Border and sentiment that’s it, no more!

OLW Border

OLW 140 Guidelines:

1. A one-layer card is defined as a single layer of card stock folded in half. No other layers of card stock allowed!

2. Make a card with a border as the image; you can add a sentiment but please  remember to keep embellishments to a minimum.

3. Upload your card somewhere online and link it using the InLinkz button on the bottom of this post. If you link to your blog, please make sure the link goes to the individual post, not to your blog’s home page.

4.HAVE FUN! That’s really what it’s all about.

Supplies:

Stamps: Love is in the AirPoppiesWishes,  Foliage Fancy (PB)
Inks: Memento Dandelion, Cantaloupe, Lady Bug & Versamark  & Versafine Habanero, Versafine Majestic Blue(Tsukineko)
Also: Clear embossing powder


16 Comments on “OLW 140 Borders”

  1. Jan Castle says:

    Lovely cards Heather!!! I especially like the blue poppies!!!!

  2. Gabby says:

    Both cards are terrific but I especially LOVE the poppy border! 🙂

  3. sathyakala says:

    Love all your cards…Very effective…Many thanks for making the techniques so clear 🙂

  4. Ardyth says:

    Can’t wait to play – this looks fun!

  5. Both these are fabulous! xx

  6. Francie in Montreal says:

    Another great idea for my “clever and beautiful ideas” folder. You’re just so talented!

  7. Mary H. says:

    What a fabulous way to make these beautiful cards. Thnx for the wonderful ideas. TFS

  8. Lindsey says:

    Cards with so much white space have to be created with such precision (and clean fingers!) and you have accomplished it perfectly, Heather! I really like the first border, with the rounded corners to match the card edge. The second card is a classic beauty.

  9. Joyce M. says:

    These cards are really fabulous. Now, you’ve got me thinking about borders.

  10. […] One layer Wednesday challenge was to make a border…. I chose graduation hats.. cause I needed com congratulations […]

  11. Tiya-B says:

    love both cards, but i like the blue one a little more.

  12. Fun challenge — took me 3 attempts but I got it! 🙂

  13. Hello there-It’s my first time this week playing at One Layer Wednesday-don’t think it will be my last though.Such beautiful cards to inspire us,best wishes,Nessa xx

  14. Deepti says:

    Wow both the borders are so pretty 🙂 love ur cards 🙂

  15. […] is the host at One Layer Wednesday this week, and has set us the challenge of creating a card with a border … made with a border […]

  16. Vicky says:

    Two beautiful cards Heather! I love the twist on the first card and both stamped borders are gorgeous. Vicky x


Leave a comment