Watercolour Wonder

Watercolour cyclist

I have two very different cards today both made using water colour techniques and effects. First a bit of whimsy, then some vintage. Both these will be added to the Penny Black Watercolor Wonder Board on Pinterest. If you have not visited the Penny Black boards lately you are in for a treat. They are a bunch of new ones full to the brim with inspiration.

_DSC1338 Watercolour cyclist1a

For the watercoloured cyclist (Fluffy Passenger) panel I stamped the image in Versafine Onyx Black onto Watercolour paper. I embossed in clear then painted masking fluid over all the parts I wanted to paint or colour later.

Watercolour cyclist2

When the masking fluid was totally dry I taped the panel to my craft table and wet the top half which would become the sky. Onto the wet paper I added Danube Blue and Rosebud pink ink letting it blend together to create a pale sunset. As I had only wet the paper half way down the inks did not bleed past the wet edge. When the sky was dry I cut a post-it mask in a hill shape so I could stamp the Paris stamp in the background.

Watercolour cyclist3

To create the foreground I wet the lower section of the paper and painted on some London Fog plus some more blue and pink. When it was all dry I rubbed the masking fluid off and used Memento markers, inks and a gelato(skin colour) to add colour to the cyclist.

Watercolour cyclist

Supplies:

Stamps: Fluffy PassengerSweet WishesParis (PB)
Inks: Memento London Fog, Danube Blue, Rose Bud & Versafine Onyx Black (Tsukineko)
Memento Markers: London Fog, Lilac Posies, Dandelion, Danube Blue, Summer Sky, Desert Sand (Tsukineko)
Cardstock: Fabriano 100% cotton hot pressed watercolour paper
Also: Clear embossing powder, Winsor & Newton Masking Fluid, Faber-Castell peach gelato

Vintage Lace

This new lace set from Penny Black is very pretty; there are seven different lace trims to play with. I thought they would be perfect for a vintage card. Before any stamping I flicked masking fluid over the piece of watercolour paper and let it dry. Next I wet the whole piece of water colour paper then stamped the lace stamp in Memento Desert Sand to fill the panel. When it had dried a little but was still damp I restamped some lace in Memento Potter’s clay and finally a small portion in Espresso Truffle. I added the rose in Espresso Truffle also, then used a marker and aqua painter to blend some colour onto the leaves and petals. I added the sentiment when the panel was dry but dropped a few water droplets on it for a little bleeding. When it was all dry I tore the bottom edge, sponged all the edges, added some spots of Potter’s Clay ink then removed the masking fluid to reveal little white flecks and specks.

Thanks for dropping in; I hope you are inspired to splash a little water colour around!

Supplies:

Stamps: Sweet as Honey, Lace Trims, Sentimental (PB)
Inks: Memento Potter’s Clay, Desert Sand, Espresso Truffle (Tsukineko)
Memento Markers: Potter’s Clay, Desert Sand (Tsukineko)
Cardstock: Fabriano 100% cotton hot pressed watercolour paper
Also: Winsor & Newton Masking Fluid


10 Comments on “Watercolour Wonder”

  1. Clelie says:

    That is incredibly beautiful!!! I love it when you see something and have to ask yourself “how did she DO that?”. Thank you for the inspiration working with the PB lace set!

  2. Marleine says:

    Hi,
    These cards are gorgeous. I especially like the lace and the technique you used. X

  3. Denise says:

    Hi Darlene, speechless that’s me!…Absolutely fabulous cards, superb artworks…hugs…
    Denise (UK) x

  4. Janine B says:

    Such lovely cards. They are both gorgeous, similar in technique and yet so different.

  5. Karen says:

    This is beautiful! I do believe I have some masking fluid to try something like this out. Thank you for the inspiration!

  6. Beautiful cards Heather. The first one is my favorite. I have never heard of masking fluid and will definitely need to get a bottle and try myself. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Gabby says:

    Two amazing cards! LOVE the Parisian scene … fab coloring and great stamps and coloring/piecing. LOVE the lace trim and inking on the second card. Waaay cool! 🙂

  8. Mary H. says:

    Both of these cards are so awesomely lovely. Thanks for describing how you created each one. So fantastic in the results you achieved on each, and love these stamps too. TFS

  9. Lindsey says:

    You have such an ability to blend your colours perfectly, Heather. Both these cards are beautiful examples of your talent.

  10. Darnell says:

    I’m in awe again, Heather! Thank you so much for the step-by-step of your incredibly oh-la-la Parisian cycler!!


Leave a comment