OLW 158 Fly away with me

Butterfly in brown

This week’s One Layer Wednesday challenge is to feature something with wings on your card. I chose this beautiful butterfly stamp and a palette of browns.

I masked the left hand side of the card front so I could sponge and stamp  the right hand side. I have roughly used the rule of thirds for my stamped panel. The butterfly is stamped over both sides directing the eye from left to right. I also added a little sponging to the bottom edge in keeping with the vintage feel of the card.

OLW 158 Rules

1. A one-layer card is defined as a single layer of card stock folded in half. No other layers of paper allowed.

2. Make a card with wings on it. It could feature birds, butterflies, planes, mosquitos ; anything with wings.

3. Post your card somewhere online and link back to it here using the InLinkz button on the sidebar. If linking to a blog post, please be sure to link to the specific post and not your blog’s home page.

4. The most important rule of all…HAVE FUN!


13 Comments on “OLW 158 Fly away with me”

  1. Janine B says:

    This is gorgeous – I love the dimension you have achieved with the spongeing and the colour palette is spot on!

  2. hannelie says:

    Wow… beautiful!

  3. So so so beautiful! Love it!

  4. Lindsey says:

    Music and butterflies… a perfect combination. Beautiful in these muted tones, Heather.

  5. Jan Castle says:

    GORGEOUS card Heather…wonderful combo of elements – makes your heart sing!

  6. Ellie Knol says:

    What a delight to look at!

  7. jmhave44 says:

    So lovely. Like this sepia tone that creates such a vintage feel to your card.

  8. Paula Meuschke says:

    I just wanted to tell you that I love absolutely every one of your beautiful cards. The color combos are gorgeous! Thank you for sharing.

  9. GF you sponge so beautifully! Beautiful card and I love the challenge~

  10. […] I’m linking up these cards to the following: Less is More Week #137: Get Well Soon; Addicted to CAS Challenge #22 Code Word: Get Well; and One Layer Wednesday – Fly Away with Me. […]

  11. […] the digi is fairy cat from A Day for Daisies. I ‘m entering it into the one layer Wednesday.. Fly away with me challenge- something with wings […]

  12. Hi Heather,
    Thank You for visiting my blog today. I like your challenge!
    The musical border is gorgeous!

  13. Gery says:

    It doesn’t matter for what occasion you use the butterfly, it always looks great!
    Beautiful card.
    Groetjes Gery


Leave a comment