Celebrate by stamping a simple postcard

Stamp Simply Celebrates got off to a fabulous start on Monday morning over at No Time To Stamp.  Sharon is giving away some candy and Janine has a Cookie Recipe exchange on her blog with candy as well.  Today the fun continues with Becky, Sharon and Darlene.

Becky at Hemidemisemiquaver Design – has a beautiful Featured Project showing us some of her over-the-top Gift Packaging Ideas.  She also has some BLOG CANDY to share.

Sharon, our fabulous hostess at  No Time To Stamp? – has more BLOG CANDY today, so pop over there.

Darlene at  Dar’s Crafty Creations is hosting a fun Challenge today, where I am participating as a guest designer.  The challenge is to keep the card light and the postage low by making a Christmas postcard.  Make sure you drop in at Darlene’s to see her great ideas and those of her guest designers also.

Janine Orchard’s sample found HERE
Dee Jackson’s sample found HERE
Leslie Miller – HERE
LeAnne Pugliese – HERE
The festivities last for 12 days so any time you want to see what is happening next there is a PARTY CENTRAL post on Sharon’s blog with all the details.  Just look way up the top above her banner and you will see it.

Anyone can play ANY of the challenges by ANY of the hostesses during our 12 days of Stamp Simply Celebrates!!! You DO NOT have to have a Blog to playuploading your project to SCS (Splitcoaststampers.com) is not only permissible, but HIGHLY ENCOURAGED.  When doing so, use the KEYWORD SSC08.  Thanks!

Here is my postcard for Darlene’s Challenge:

img_6554postcard1

After fiddling around with a few stamps I decided to try making a traditional postcard scene.  This one is inspired by a picture in a book I am reading my son at the moment.  I stamped the trees first and then embossed in clear.  I then used a versmarker to draw some snow on the branches and embossed in white.  I masked my snow with a piece of paper, spotted the stars with the versamarker and embossed in white, before brayering over.  I’m not sure whether it was the paper or my technique but I didn’t get good coverage with the brayer so I did some sponging on the sky as well. Finally I added the little moon and a little sponged shadowing on the snow.

Supplies:

Stamps: Lovely as a Tree
Inks: Night of Navy, Pretty in Pink, Pale Plum, Perfect Plum, Basic Black Versamark.
Cardstock: White
Also: Clear and white e.p., Brayer, sponges


14 Comments on “Celebrate by stamping a simple postcard”

  1. What a totally fabulous job you did creating this winter scene — just wonderful!!! I love the look of your sky — so beautiful!!! What a gorgeous Post Card!!! Wonderful sample!!!

  2. barb schram says:

    Heather, this postcard is absolutely stunning! It is so peaceful and the colors are lovely!

  3. Janine says:

    Just beautiful Heather… Hope all is well with you!!

  4. OMGoodness … this is stunning! LOVE your wintery scene and thanks for showing the opposite side of the card, this is one thing I forgot to do in my posting! What a wonderful sample … thanks so much!!

  5. Jerri Kay says:

    Wowzers, this is gorgeous Heather, I love the gorgeous pine trees and your night sky is just fabulous!

  6. Dee Jackson says:

    Beautiful!! The sky is gorgeous!

  7. LeAnne says:

    Ahhh, so pretty! Love this scene, as you could probably tell!
    LeAnne

  8. Oh, my goodness, what a beautiful scene! This is amazing! I LOVE it!!

  9. How lovely, Heather! A PERFECT postcard greeting!

  10. Heather, this is positively STUNNING! Wowzers! I LOVE it! 🙂 TFS! Hope you have a wonderful day! 🙂

  11. So very peaceful and pretty! Love the night sky!

  12. […] Dar’s above, check out these Blogs for some wonderful Post Card inspiration:  Janine, Dee, Heather, Leslie, LeAnne (Please bear with us all through the night as we are uploading — should all […]

  13. Terri Moore says:

    You did a great job on this.


Leave a comment