Table Decor Challenge

Yes, we are still celebrating!

I have a challenge for you which you can read about below, but there’s more:

AJ Otto The Willow Garden – AJ has some BLOG CANDY to share!

Sharon Johnson No Time To Stamp? has  more BLOG CANDY!

LeAnne Pugliese Wee Inklings – Doesn’t every Mother need a helper, especially during the Holidays?  Well, for LeAnne’s Featured Project that is just what she is giving us, a Mother’s Holiday Helper! LeAnne is running a Challenge along with her project, providing us with templates and instruction so we can quickly and easily create our own helper.  Don’t miss it!

Now for my Challenge.  When I was growing up I was only too happy to decorate the table for special occasions.  As I had two brothers I didn’t get much opposition.  My mother was also keen to have have me take on the task as she was usually busy with the food.  My decorations were never that fancy but they usually involved hand made place cards and napkins folded in some fancy way I had learned or devised.  Sometimes I added flowers or candles.   My children also like this task and have incorporated stamping into their table decor.

My challenge is to create some items to decorate your table during the Christmas season.    You can make it as simple or as fancy as you like.  I’m calling it a 1-2-3 challenge so you can choose to complete one, two,or three co-ordinated items to dress up your table.  Here are a few ideas but feel free to share your own hand made table decorations:   place cards, napkins, napkin rings, candles and candle holders, menus, centrepieces.  Make sure you check out the decor designed by these talented ladies also:  Jennifer, Darlene, Joan, Jerri

Anyone may participate in these challanges and all the fun events, blogger or not!!!  If you upload to your Blog, provide a link to your entry in the appropriate post by the Challenge Hostess.  I also encourage you to upload your projects over at Splitcoast.  If you do upload at Splitcoast, PLEASE KEYWORD all Splitcoast uploads for this event SSC08 (Stamp Simply Celebrates! 2008).

img_6583tabledecor

Every year I choose a different colour scheme for Christmas decorating.  This year it is gold and white/cream.  I will  add more to my table decorations but I have three for starters: crackers, place cards and a treat triangle.  To make the cracker I took apart an used cracker from another year and copied the dimensions.  I used gold foil wrapping paper and whisper white cardstock, embossed with gold e.p.  To keep the shape as I rolled I put three pieces of rolled up card board inside, a centre piece and two end pieces.  With those three pieces in place I scrunched the paper where I wanted it to indent and then tied the ribbon bows.  I will be adding cracker snaps and novelties when I make the ten I need for our Christmas dinner this year. I’m sorry if my instuctions are a little hard to follow,  I will try and do a tutorial some time soon.

img_6597cracker

The place cards are very easy, I used brushed gold and whisper white cardstock, embossing and cutting out the tree and sticking it in place with stampin’ dimensionals.  I wrote the name with a Tsukineko emboss dual pen and embossed in gold.

img_6600placecard

For my third element I wanted some sort of little box to hold the Lindor balls which just called out to me when I was in Michaels.  They obviously needed to be part of my table decor, they were the perfect colour.  We all know I didn’t buy them to eat!  My daughter came up with the triangle idea, open not closed because she thought those perfectly co-ordinated balls need to be seen not boxed up.

img_6596treattriangle

The shape is an equilateral triangle, scored 1″ in on each side.  Where the scoring lines cross I cut out the resulting diamond shape.  I then pinched each corner together, punched through both sides and tied them together with a bow.  I don’t know that I have described it all that well, here is the shape of the triangle after scoring and cutting out the corners.

img_6623trianglematte1

Thanks for dropping by and joining in the celebrations

Supplies:

Stamps: Snow Swirled (again!)
Inks: Encore Gold
Cardstock: Brushed Gold, Whisper white, Hallmark Giftwrap
Also: Gold organza ribbon, gold e.p., Tsukineko emboss dual pen


21 Comments on “Table Decor Challenge”

  1. Oh my gosh, Heather!!! This table setting is JUST stunning!!! I have long loved gold and white together and this is just exquisite!!! I am literally drooling on that beautiful tablecloth!!! LOL!!! A FABULOUS and VERY INSPIRING table decor project!!!

  2. Jackie says:

    Sharon is right, it is simply stunning!

  3. barb schram says:

    WOWsers, Heather! What wonderful ideas and so elegant! Perfectly coordinated! I love the candy triangle to keep the view of the wrapped candy too! Wonderful, just wonderful!

  4. Darlene Gabriel says:

    Oh wow I love your little triangle box – I have to try this. Your table decor is beautiful. Thanks for the inspiration.

  5. Cathy says:

    What a truly elegant set of table ornaments!

  6. jeanne nielsen says:

    Wow! Just beautiful! I have to say, they white chocolate Lindt truffles have grown on me the past 2 years. If you don’t want them, send them my way! They do coordinate very well though! Love the ideas. I’ll get to something but it won’t be until next week. I’ll link then! Jeannie

  7. […] Telford – bits and pieces – Heather is sharing a Featured Project with us today — how to Dress up Your Table!  Fun!!!  […]

  8. Heather this table decor is totally FABULOUS and oh so elegant!! I love the crackers! And did I read that right?? You wrote the name on the place card!?!? It is gorgeous. I would buy a font that looked like that!!

  9. […] and featured project:  Heather — See wonderful ideas for holiday table decor as Heather shows you what she’s created […]

  10. Joan Fricker says:

    Heather, oh my goodness this is stunning. My mouth fell open when I saw it. I love elegant and you certainly have created it. I love everything you have done. Great job!

    Joan

  11. LeAnne says:

    Heather, this is awesome! What a great way to showcase those luscious candies and all your table decor is gorgeous!
    LeAnne

  12. Janine says:

    Absolutley gorgeous Heather… I love the place cards. They are beautiful!
    Have a great day!!

  13. Deb Saaranen says:

    Wow– so gorgeous Heather! I love this elegant setting with the gold and cream! The poppers are just marvelous– it would be great to see a tutorial on them! The chocolate triangles are a perfect touch as well!

  14. Oh WOW … what a beautiful place setting!! LOVE the richness of the gold and your embossing is perfect!!

  15. nancy littrell says:

    Wow!!!! Stunning table setting. All the gold and EB make for such an elegant place setting. TFS your triangle box tutorial too.

  16. Jerri Kay says:

    Gorgeous Heather, I love your beautiful gold embossing ensemble. Very elegant, just love the poppers!

  17. Nancy Curtis says:

    Gorgeous job on your gold table setting pieces. I am not feeling well so i will come back and play later.

  18. This is so beautiful and elegant, Heather! It’s a perfect match for your lovely dishes and tablecloth. Wow! 1, 2, 3 great ideas for a fabulous and festive service!

  19. Cathy says:

    I made a “2” for your “1-2-3” table decor challenge: a votive candle holder and matching match box cover. You can see it here in my SCS gallery.

    http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/gallery/photo/1154870?nocache=1

    Thanks for the inspiration!!


Leave a comment