London

The Penny Black blog is featuring the new “Cities” stamps today. Paris, New York, London!

Although I have never been to London it does have a bit of a reputation so I sponged in the colours of rain.  I masked first, sponged the top half in a grey blue, the bottom half in blue and then positioned the London stamp in the middle. The one bright spot on this dreary day was coloured with marker.

Make sure you check out the New York and Paris.

Supplies:

Stamps:London (Penny Black)
Inks: Bordering Blue, Marina Mist, Real Red, Versafine Onyx Black
Cardstock: MFP white


18 Comments on “London”

  1. sue says:

    Oh Heather, do I ever like this! The stamp is lovely, and you’ve done the perfect thing with it — giving it color without overpowering it. The sponging is beautiful, and I love the way you’ve created the perfect London weather with it. Giving the umbrella that touch of red really caps it off. Lovely!

  2. Jenny M says:

    Oh wow, I love how you’ve given this image colour Heather and you’re right the perfect colour for London :0) The detail of the red umbrella and the image spilling outside the inked strip is just brilliant, I love it :0)
    Jenny x

  3. Tracy says:

    Its not always raining in London :o), i like this card – very clever. Tracy x

  4. Jean Cross says:

    Heather, this is just beautiful. You captured the misty rain perfectly and is was pure genius to have just that little focal point of red. Such an artist.

  5. Linda says:

    Love your cards! Love the idea that there are not a lot of layers. Beautiful!

  6. Sarah Jay says:

    This is fantastic, Heather! I love the way the red umbrella stands out from all of those moody blues.

  7. Striking effect of the blended strip and spot color on the umbrella! Fabulous Heather!

  8. Ann Y. says:

    Oh, wow! I love this London scene. Love how the images extend both above and below the masked panel, and that pop of red in the umbrella is fabulous. Love it!

  9. Debbie says:

    Love the pop of the red umbrella!

  10. diana says:

    Lovely! TFS 😉

  11. Laura Jane says:

    Another Masterpiece! The RED is the perfect touch!

  12. Lindsey says:

    All three of these city stamps look like great fun. I love the splash of red umbrella against the blues!

  13. valerie says:

    Love what you’ve done with this stamp Heather and the little red umbrella! We don’t get a lot of rain, in fact we are going to have water restrictions from April!!!!
    Val x

  14. rosebudinnh says:

    really love this card, the single red, is so creative……..

  15. Jami says:

    Just came across your blog recently and all of your creations are so inspiring! I just added you to my Google Reader! TFS!

  16. ND says:

    That card certainly reminds me of London although, in its defence, I must state that the sun shone brilliantly when we visited some years ago. A great card.

    May I add another challenge. or three.

    Melbourne, Canberra, King Island.

    I have images in mind, but will be interested to see how you represent these significant places.

    ND

  17. […] playing with it.  The first card I saw of hers that wowed me and made me want to CASE it was her London card. I immediately thought of this Rubber Romance Paris stamp that I’ve had for a long […]

  18. Jami says:

    So happy to have your blog in my Google Reader. Your London card was the first one I saw (on Pinterest probably?)…anyway I’ve been dying to CASE it with a Paris stamp I have. Finally done and blogged. Thanks so much fo rthe inspiration!
    http://jami.blogs.splitcoaststampers.com/2012/04/24/from-london-to-paris/


Leave a comment