Favourites

The designers at Penny Black are showcasing favourites from the new 2012 catalog at present but what I have posted today is an older Penny Black stamp, Queen Anne’s Lace which has become a new favourite of mine. I love the delicacy of Queen Anne’s Lace which this stamp captures beautifully. Picking a favourite stamp also worked  for the Less is More challenge this week which asks us to choose and combine three previous challenges. I chose#15 One layer embossing, #22 Shades of Blue and #59 Masking.

Several people have left questions in the comments section lately about products and techniques; I have a draft in progress to answer those soon but a  couple may be answered in the following tutorial. Brenda asked how I mask; the first three photos show how I make use of the lines on my mat to help me line up the edges of the card before positioning the post-it notes. The large post-it notes are worth the extra cost because they do the whole length of the card and the width of the sticky section is good.

After using the grid on the mat I put scrap paper underneath and start my design. For this card I stamped the image twice in versamark, then embossed in clear.

I use round craft sponges cut into quarters to sponge and for this card I used Memento Summer Sky and Danube Blue ink.

Building up colour by sponging takes a while. I start by dabbing the colour on and then blend with a swirly motion to make sure I have good coverage.

For this card I wanted a bit of white space so didn’t sponge the panel completely.

When I was happy with the sponging I stamped the image several times with Summer Sky ink.

I removed the masks and added one more image in Danube Blue and finished with a sentiment, from the transparent set, Gratitude.

Here’s the finished product using a favourite stamp, my favourite colour and a favourite technique.

Thanks for dropping by, I hope you get a chance to work with your favourites this week.


44 Comments on “Favourites”

  1. sue says:

    Heather, your card is beautiful. The lovely stamp and your technique come together to make a really gorgeous card. Thank you so much for including your tutorial on how you put this together. Reading your words while seeing what you’re doing makes all the difference. Although you make it look easy, I know it’s not. But with this tutorial and your pictures, a little practice should get a happy result with some similarity to yours! Believe me, I’ll try! This is so very pretty.

  2. Mary Nieb says:

    I love your cards. Thank you for the instructions on how you made this card. It is stunning!

  3. Carole says:

    What a great card Heather and thanks so much for sharing how you put it all together. I’m going to give this a try. Love PB’s stamps too.

  4. Gorgeous in the blues! Great tutorial~

  5. Lindsey says:

    This card is fabulous in blue! You’re right; that stamp is lovely and delicate.

  6. Lisa says:

    woo hoo!!!!!! Sooo exicted that you did this tutorial!!! I love love love all of your work it is stunning and so happy to try more with these techniques! Can’t wait for a video!
    Lisa

  7. Tui Nathan says:

    Gorgeous … thanks for the tutorial!

  8. Sandy Knecht says:

    Another amazing card. It is so striking!

  9. Trudi says:

    Stunning card, I can see why this is one of your favorites

  10. lisa says:

    Your card is great how all your cards. I´m a fan of your style.
    Lisa

  11. Elaine says:

    Great card – it’s in my favourite colour (BLUE) and the design is lovely. Thanks for the step-by-step guide too!

  12. Kathyk says:

    Your card is fabulous

    Kathyk

  13. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing your methods 🙂

  14. Ann says:

    Heather all your cards are so beautiful and this one is just gorgeous! You really are the master at this technique. Thank you for showing us how you go about creating your beautiful images.

  15. Beryl K says:

    Beautiful card
    Beryl x

  16. Judy says:

    I love your cards and have wondered how you do the masking; thanks for the excellent
    tutorial!!

  17. Ardyth says:

    Thanks for the great tutorial – you make it look so simple to end up with such a stunning card! Definitely must try!

  18. Chrissie says:

    I just love looking at the results of you doing what you do best… this is wonderful inking and a superb card.
    You never fail to inspire me!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

  19. Gillian says:

    Absolutly stunning card. Love it

  20. Chrissie says:

    I couldn’t resist having a go at this one Heather… it’s so gorgeous!
    Chrissie

  21. Vee says:

    Heather, that is such a beautiful card, I might have a go at that myself, thank you for the tutorial.
    Vee

  22. debgem says:

    Absolutely gorgeous – love the shading of the blues. Great tutorial too!

  23. debgem says:

    Super tutorial and absolutely gorgeous card! Love the shades of blue.

  24. Exquisite Heather! Thank you for sharing your wonderful step-by-step photos.

  25. Vicky says:

    What a beauty Heather! I didn’t know you could get large post it notes. I’ll certainly look out for them as it usually takes me longer to line up the post its than do the sponging!

  26. mandi says:

    You make me want to go and et my inks and get inky fingers..yuk lol
    Superb card
    Thank you very much
    mandi
    “Less is More”

  27. Haley D. says:

    Your card is absolutely gorgeous! Thank you for the detailed tutorial.

  28. Julia says:

    Love it!!!

  29. Deb says:

    Just gorgeous. It’s amazing what one color and one stamp can do!

  30. Ann Y. says:

    Amazing card, Heather, and fabulous little tutorial. I love the blue and white color scheme. I don’t have that Memeto summer sky. What a beautiful bright blue.

  31. Oh how I LOVE to come here and see your latest creation!! This is another beauty, Heather. Thanks so much for the wonderful tutorial, too.

  32. Simply gorgeous piece….I just did a quick look/see…..mmmmm I love your work!!!
    Have a sunny Tuesday!

  33. Jenny M says:

    Just stunning Heather! I don’t do “inky” very much but this tutorial is tempting me :0)
    Love your style.
    Jenny x

  34. Karen Bourke says:

    Heather this card is scrumptuous……. thanks for taking the time to post a tut as well 🙂 H

  35. Scrapmate says:

    A beautiful card.

  36. Daen'Ys says:

    What a stunnig card and even with instructions!

    Daen’Ys

  37. Nadine says:

    You come up with such remarkable creations…TFS

  38. Your whole blog is lovely. Full of inspirations. Thank you so much!

    I’ve just became a follower. TFS!

    xo, Marian Garcia
    http://www.StudioMbyMarian.blogspot.com

  39. Sandra Lewis says:

    Your cards are inspirational and works of art! Thank you so much for sharing not only the finished products but the techniques as to how you achieve the “masterpieces”. Thanks again.
    Kind Regards
    Sandra (Scotland)

  40. […] design was inspired by Heather Telford’s beautiful cards.  She even has a step by step tutorial.  Gotta love […]

  41. Jan Hoyt says:

    very pretty….love the depth and brightness of this card. So simple, yet so beautiful!

  42. Terri says:

    Gorgeous card! I love the blues and that stamp is awesome.

    Ter 😉

  43. Mel G says:

    Simply stunning!! This card is just perfect!!


Leave a comment