Muted musical background

Although in today’s card the flowers from the Penny Black set Delicate Florals are the feature I had fun layering colours and images for the background strip. After masking the narrow vertical strip I sponged in greens and plum colours before stamping the music background and the small floral stamp from Delicate florals, both in green.  I then removed the masks and added the flowers and sentiment in black.

Supplies:

Stamps: Music Background, Delicate Florals, Flourish Birthday(PB)
Inks: Certainly Celery, Pale Plum, Perfect Plum (SU)
Cardstock: Flourishes Classic white


15 Comments on “Muted musical background”

  1. I love the fade from green to purple and the muted notes, very well done, so pretty!

  2. Chrissie says:

    This is gorgeous Heather, the hint of music manuscript in the background is so subtle and adds so much to the composition.
    Love it!
    Chrissie

  3. Marja says:

    I love this one so much heather. Really gorgeous. So fine and beautiful and great composition.
    Lovely greet
    Marja

  4. I love the colors you have used and the fade from one to another. The script is background adds such a lovely touch and the bold black image is perfect on top of it all.

  5. Brenda says:

    The colors are pretty together and I really like the flower stamp. Good job!

  6. Wonderful softly woven stamping on the color block behind the beautiful flowers stamped in black!

  7. Jan Castle says:

    This really took my breath away…soooooo lovely!
    TFS!!!!
    Jan

  8. Gery says:

    Me oh my, what a beauty. The colours of the background, the stamps on the background and the beautiful stamp in the front everything fits perfectly together.
    You are a genius in this kind of cards.
    XGeryX

  9. Lindsey says:

    Wow, wow, wow. What I attempt in layers, you accomplish to perfection in one. Beautiful, Heather!

  10. Nadine says:

    You do such lovely and creative cards

  11. Marion says:

    I love the soft and subtle background stamping, then the bold image over the top reaching beyond the maked area! Awesome!

  12. Jami says:

    I adore this! I am so inspired by you that I sat down and created 3 cards yesterday with masking and sponging. Hope to get them up on my blog later this week. So fun! Haven’t played like that in a long time. Thanks so much for sharing your creations!

  13. CherylQuilts says:

    You are the queen of masking! I am so impressed with the amazing creations you design! This is beautiful…thanks so much!

  14. […] I head off to work this morning, I do have a card to share.  This is another one inspired by Heather Telford’s awesome blog.  I’m running late, so I won’t go into much detail except to say that I used Shimmery […]

  15. […] beyond the masking. Here are a few other cards I have created using this layout Balloons, Delicate florals & Winter Sky. To create this card I sponged the sky first taking care to get lighter towards […]


Leave a comment